Banana Honey Yogurt Ice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This is a great way to use up older bananas without making a cake. I just blend all the ingredients together, pop it into the freezer for an hour then use an ice cream maker to turn it into frozen yoghurt. Works beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I loved this, a great use for soft bananas, I had five bananas and a half cup of sunflower seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
so i skipped all the blender non sense and smashed my banana with a bean smasher i also slightly altered the recipe i used: 1 banana 1c non fat greek yogurt juice of 1/2 a fresh lemon 3 tsp local honey 1 cap full vanilla extract it is simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Yum! Don't be afraid to adjust this if you find it too sour. Greek yogurt is very similar in consistency and taste to sour cream, so if you are expecting this to takste like a sweet yogurt dish, you might be disappointed. It will also depend on the sweetness of your bananas as well. I tasted it after blending, then added a tad more honey to make it a bit sweeter. I also tossed in a splash of amaretto to hopefully address the hardness of the dessert. We'll see if that works, but after freezing it for 20 min in my ice cream maker, I found this stuff to be delicious, and the consistency of soft serve ice cream! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Great low calorie dessert. I took the previous reviewers advice and used 3 large frozen bananas (When I freeze bananas, I usually freeze three in a freezer bag at a time.) but instead of greek yogurt, I used FF plain yogurt and added just a little vanilla flavoring. I happened to be out of lemons or lemon juice at the moment but I did have an orange, so I used a little fresh orange juice and a little orange zest. I followed the directions as to how to prepare it only at the second freezing time, I poured the liquid into Snack Cup containers I'd cleaned and saved and stuck them into the freezer for an hour, then stuck the popsicle sticks into them and let them freeze the rest of the way. Great way for me to portion control and very low in calories and sugar plus it's a way to use up the bananas that ripen too quickly that I just stick in bags in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Based on the other reviewers' experiences of this freezing solid, I set out with the expectation of making popsicles. I guess I had a happy accident because I was able to enjoy this in ice cream form within 5 minutes. I used ripe bananas that I had frozen previously, Oikos Greek yogurt with honey on the bottom (I left out additional honey), 1 TBSP lemonade instead of lemon juice thinking it would be too sour. I mashed it all up with a potato masher because I didn't want to bother with more dishes. Minutes later it looked too good to put away in the freezer. Very tasty and amazingly fast to pull together. I had a cup of "ice cream" right then and there and put the rest in ice cube trays with toothpicks for popsicles later. I will be making it again this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I added 1 oz of Brandy to keep it from freezing so hard. I also doubled the honey and added about 1/3c. of pure maple syrup along with about 1/2 c. chopped salted almonds. Not a low calorie dessert but low fat. I left out the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
this sounded so good. i wanted to love this recipe. first i must say that i have never made ice cream or frozen yogurt of any kind before. that said, this recipe as is was waaaay too sour. i had to add quite a bit more honey and then it was still sour but had a very strong banana taste. i happened to have a little bit of ricotta cheese in the fridge and some almonds so i blended them in. at that point (and a few splenda packets) the flavor was better, but when this froze it turned into a solid block. since i've never made this before i'll give it 3 stars to be fair. but really, i would never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States