Banana Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe was delish and I would make it again using the following recommendations: add another banana (the banana taste was a bit too subtle for me), double the cinnamon and use less oil. I used a regular frying pan with a little over a cup of oil. That was more than enough to fry up the entire batch! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Easy to make and YUMMY! I added more cinnamon, These are quick and not overly sweet. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I made this exactly as suggested except that I used two very ripe plantains rather than bananas, and I didn't bother measuring the heat of the oil - I just waited until it sputtered when I tossed a drop of batter in. :) They were awesome and much less hassle than I thought they would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These fritters were awesome!! I didnt have powdered sugar, so i used a cinnamon and sugar blend for the topping! will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These were ok. They are kinda like a funnel cake and I'm not a fan of those, so these were not for me. I probably won't make again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I think they were just sweet enough, not too overpowering with banana flavor. The only changes I made to the recipe is that I used half whole wheat flour and olive oil rather than margarine. Very light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I made them using a fry pan with about 1/2 inch of oil to shallow fry. My husband loved these, but he drizzled chocolate syrup and maple syrup on them to add flavor. I think next time (yes, there will be a next time because we always have bananas), I will try some of the suggestions to add brown sugar or more cinnamon as I feel they need a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I had some overripe bananas and about an hour before heading off to a friends with the kids. This recipe fit the bill. After the first batch (too doughy for me and desired more flavor) these are all the adjustments to the recipe. 3 very ripe bananas, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, an additional 3 TBL brown sugar, lowered the oil temp to 330 degrees, used a 1 1/2 Tbl ice cream scoop filled only 3/4 of the way (the small amount cooked through), shallow fried in 3/4" oil, turning after fritters were bubbly on top and brown on bottom, immediately sprinkled with sugar cinnamon mixture (for flavor) and after they cooled a bit to eating temp sprinkled powdered sugar on top (for appearance). They were very good. My friend thought they were delicious and I left there empty-handed. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I just made this for a potluck food sale, and i have to say it is SO GOOD i think i gained 10 pounds while i cooked them because ach one tha didn't look perfect i said "ooh, better eat that one!!" its kinda hard to get the oil the exact right temp for them to fry, they burn so fat if you dont watch it. for those of you who dont like gooey insides, it might not be for you. myself i think the gooey is the best part, after all it IS made with mashed bananas, you cant expect it to be like a cake donut that is dense. After mine were slightly cooled i sprinkled a mix of granulated sugar and cinnamon. I also added more cinnamon and sugar than the batter called for and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These were quite delicious and were gone before I knew it. I used 3 bananas and was glad I did - I really enjoyed the flavor. I added extra sugar as other reviewers suggested. I ate them hot as soon as they were done but my boyfriend thought they were a little mushy. He preferred them after they had cooled and dried a bit. Overall great recipe and easily tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States