Banana Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Yum! I did however make a few minor adjustments . First, instead of sliced bananas I put the bananas in a food chopper. As for the rest of the batter I added a bit of cinnamon, vanilla extract, used half brown sugar/half white sugar and soymilk. Also, I just used enough butter to coat my pan once and I had no problems at all flipping any of the frittatas. This was a simple, easy recipe and the frittatas came out moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I've made savory frittatas before but after reading the recipe and the reviews was somewhat confused. I didn't know whether the 3 serving size was 3 paper-thin crepe like frittatas or 1 frittata cut into 3 wedges! This is what I did....I only made 1 frittata, MASHED the banana and added to batter and poured all the batter into pan and cooked on medium heat for about 4 minutes. The middle was not firm so I put under broiler (on Lo) for about 2 minutes. I then slid out the frittata onto plate. I turned pan over the frittata and plate and flipped over. This was just to make sure the middle was done (only about 30 seconds). I flipped back over, let cool and sprinkled with powdered sugar. I sliced into 2" wedges. My family gobbled it down!! I barely got one piece and my husband was asking if there was anymore. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This recipe is delicious!!! We have a large family, so I tripled the recipe. My toddlers as well as my older children loved this dish. Very filling! Typically, I don't use white flour, but I wanted to make the recipe as written, so next time I have a point of comparison. I'll update when I use the whole wheat flour. I did substitute virgin coconut oil for the vegetable oil and that was delicious. Updating my review! This recipe is delicious using whole wheat flour. With the substitutions of whole wheat flour and virgin coconut oil, this is a very delicious and healthy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This one was hard to rate. I'd say 4 stars if the texture wasn't so odd... the bananas and egg combination was a little offputting. The flavor was fairly decent, though. However, I wouldn't make it again just because it wasn't that great. When it came time to flip, I realized that the frittata was going to fall apart because of the heaviness of the bananas pulling at the batter from different angles. I loosened it from the skillet with a spatula and slid it onto a dinner plate. Then, holding the plate directly over the skillet, I flipped the plate over, dropping the frittata back into the skillet to allow it to brown on the other side. Stayed together just perfectly. I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the batter and cut the oil in half (could stand to be cut a little more). I also used margarine instead of butter. Served with sliced bananas and powdered sugar on top. Thanks, I had fun making this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
These are messy and it would probably work out better to make smaller pancakes, the kids do enjoy the flavor though. I certainly wouldn't throw them down the disposal, what an unnecessarily rude comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
This tastes great! I often cook it for breakfast because it is so good and very easy to make. I did try it in one large skillet to begin with but quickly found out that it works so much better by cooking it in a 6 inch non-stick skillet so I end up with two smaller ones instead of one large one. I cook half at a time. Makes it easy to flip and makes the perfect breakfast for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I really liked the way this tasted. It was kind of messy when I flipped it over. I think that was due to the sliced bananas. I think next time I will try smashing the bananas before putting them in the batter. If I had made several frittatas instead of one, it would have turned out perfectly. It's a great alternative to pancakes or even a light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Interesting. Eggy. Too much oil/butter, though. Overpowering flavor of bananas. Next time I'll add vanilla, less bananas, and sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
loved this! made with some changes. used spelt flour. added some cinnamon and vanilla. sliced the bananas in half before slicing again. used brown sugar instead of white. you really have to let it cook til it's pretty set before flipping it. had no problems with flipping it. served with maple syrup. delicious and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
FRITTATA DISASTER ALERT! Try at your own risk! This was terrible. It looked like where someone had thrown up, and I suspect tasted about the same. It was impossible to turn over in one piece. Not even powdered sugar could help this mess. The proper rating would be -*****. Mine went down the disposall. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States