Banana Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I was really impressed with how good this tasted. The eggs gave it a great texture, it was a refreshing change from our regular sunday morning pancakes. I used 2 large bananas, and at first I was worried that it was too much, but I dumped them all in anyway and it was so good! I didn't put anything on top of it, it was so sweet as it was. My girls loved it, too! I didn't even tell them there wasn't syrup on it, they never noticed! This is going in my family favorites recipe book! Thanks so much for this recipe! The only change I made was to omit the oil. I just used about 1T butter in the pan and it was perfect. This made 3 servings for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This were excellent and easy to make. I added vanilla and cinnamon like some of the others suggested and skipped the oil and just buttered the pan. Used an easy banana syrup recipe I found on this site. Great combination. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I'm not sure about this one, and I agree with CookinBug that it's eggy, weirdly so in my opinion. I'm honestly not sure how to address that--I'd like to take out the eggs entirely, but then it wouldn't be a frittata, now would it?--and it's okay with the egg. My favorite was eating bites with sliced banana that I put on top. I'm not sure I'd have eaten most of it without the banana. I mashed the banana with a fork then mashed it into the batter. I still found it hard to flip but was able to do so without it breaking--I guess my pancake practicing stood me in good stead. I halved the recipe and only made one since bf is sleeping dead to the world this morning. If you're wondering how I used 2/3 of an egg, I just used egg sub 1/4 c is a whole egg, so I used slightly more than half that. Despite the fact that I'm not sure about this one, I'm glad I gave it a try. It was a fun and quick recipe this morning. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My dad was complimenting this recipe for at least an hour and a half after breakfast. I did add a little coconut extract to the recipe and decreased the butter by about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Wonderful! I added a little vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. Didn't have any trouble turning the frittata over (cook on low heat), just patience helps until it sets. My son and I couldn't decide if this would be labeled for breakfast, dinner or dessert. Thanks for the recipe! Next time, I might drizzle with chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnghorse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wadesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. My only gripe is that it was too oily- maybe use less oil in the pan next time. Also, it is really easy to flip if you have a good pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I must admit to not being all that comfortable in the kitchen, but this recipe was so easy that I actually had fun! I used Splenda instead of sugar, but otherwise tried to follow the directions faithfully, and it turned out great. Even my husband, who can cook, thought so! I'm definitely going to make this again --- maybe I'll try the apples next time! Thank you for posting this recipe. JCB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was a huge hit at my house. I doubled the recipe, mashed the bananas, added a sprinkle of cinnamon, and a dash of vanilla and baked it. I also cut out the oil completely and used only the butter for the bottom of the pan. Another benefit of baking. If you are going to bake it, use a round baking dish, and if you are doubling the recipe, make sure its deeper than a standard pie plate. Preheat the oven AND the baking dish to 375. Once its preheated, add your butter to the bottom of the pan and let it melt, use a pastry brush to completely cover the bottom of the pan. Pour in banana egg batter and then bake for about 35 minutes. My kids loved this recipe. And cutting out most of the fat, I think its a pretty healthy breakfast or even dessert choice. Roughly estimating the calories in vegetable oil, cutting the oil decreases the calories per serving by 80 calories and the fat grams by 9... bringing this down to: Per Serving: Calories: 264 Fat: 6.2g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
loved this! made with some changes. used spelt flour. added some cinnamon and vanilla. sliced the bananas in half before slicing again. used brown sugar instead of white. you really have to let it cook til it's pretty set before flipping it. had no problems with flipping it. served with maple syrup. delicious and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
So easy! And so good! I made it for brunch, and didn't eat the whole thing. When I got home from work, I grabbed the last piece and ate it cold. After it had sat for those few hours, the tastes settled and mingled a little more and it was even better! I did add a little vanilla and a little cinnamon too, which made a nice little addition. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States