Banana Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My husband loooves pancakes but loved the crepe-like texture of this recipe even more. Only used 1 chopped banana (so we can vary the toppings later) and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract per user recommendations. Using an 8" non-stick pan yields about 4 thin pancakes (not crepe-thin but thinner than your standard pancake). Used medium heat to brown one side and turned to low heat after flipping. Had no trouble flipping and there was no mess at all; I didn't even use oil. Topped with sliced bananas and nutella. Yum! Thanks nausheen for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good. I didn't have the issues other described with flipping it (which was surprising, as I can barely flip an egg without disaster). I STRONGLY SUGGEST COVERING IT WITH A LID WHILE COOKING; I did that and it cooked without issue. I followed the recipe except that I mashed the bananas with a fork before mixing them into the batter. I only had a 3.5 qt. saute pan (stainless, not non-stick), but the butter and oil were more than adequate to keep it from sticking. I cut it into four pieces, garnished it with more banana slices, and sprinkled it with powdered sugar. I feel like I got away with having dessert for breakfast - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenpete
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was REALLY big hit at our house. The flavor is really wonderful- it does take awhile to cook. My daughter loved it, a real treat for kids... we had it for breakfast, kind of like doughnuts, but it would also be good for dessert. Thanks so much for posting this unusual and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made this for my family. Everyone asked for more. Best use of ripe bananas! I added in vanilla and cinnamon. Omitted the oil--these were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I thought this was SOOO good; however, I took other peoples reviews and found the plate trick for flipping the only way to do it. I served it with PB and honey. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I wanted this to work so much. I cooked it in the pan for over 40 minutes, and it still wasn't cooked all the way through. I'll take any tips other reviewers could offer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I used apples because i was short bananas, but it was still awesome. Tastes unique and is a break from the norm of typical breakfast foods, not too mention simple to make. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe. Followed suggestion of other reviewers and mashed the bananas instead of chopping them. Also, served them as pancakes, as that was the easiest way to get it turn over. And a pinch or two of cardamom powder compliments it beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We really enjoyed this, whatever it did to my bananas was fabulous, very sweet. I was able to get 4 servings from this because I spread my batter to the edges of the pan. Hard to flip but I managed! I ate my portion like I would a piece of pizza, that part was fun for the kids! Next time I will decrease or even omit the oil, I don't even know why I used it at all. I never use oil when making pancakes. But now I know. Btw, blueberries work very well with this too. I had some frozen blueberries that needed some lovin' and this recipe definitely hit that spot. Thanks for sharing this, I am now very fond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
nausheen. Thank you very much for having let us know this recipe. It is just fantastic as it is. However I will like to share with you that it could be made with apples or peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricardo Scheuren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States