Banana Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I admit that I was a little nervous making these after reading the negative comments. BUT, These turned out delicious! I did follow some suggestions from other reviewers: mash the bananas instead of slicing them, add a little vanilla extract. I only used 2 TB of oil in a small skillet pan. They turned out delicious. They're more like banana pancakes than frittatas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momchef68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was clearly an effort to make something similar to banana fritters without the deep frying, and w/ less frying altogether, and it ALMOST worked. The taste is pleasant if you add 1/4 t. ground cardamom. However bananas w/ their natural sugars & starch are just about the stickiest thing you can put in a pan, and flipping this gooey "frittata" is quite challenging. If you divide it into something more like pancakes, keeping the diameter no bigger than the length of your turner, change the milk to either buttermilk or plain yogurt, and add 1/2 t. baking soda, it just about works, but the bananas still tend to stick to the pan. Especially if you're like me and avoid non-stick cookware and use a well-seasoned griddle instead. I also think that the recipe would work better if the 2T. of oil were incorporated into the batter, and only some butter were used on the gridde. Even so, when you pour the batter onto a hot skillet to make a solid crust and then turn the temp down to cook it through, as you should, these things are still somewhat messy. I'd rather make a hi-protein version of banana bread (extra egg, some wheat germ). Kids like that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is such an unusual sounding recipe, but I've become addicted to it! I cut the recipe in half, and my toddler and I eat this frittata several times a week for breakfast now. The only change I have is like others, which is to mash the banana(s) and mix into the egg/flour mix. The KEY to cooking this frittata well is LOW AND SLOW. Low temp, and longer than you would, say, an omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Yummy and easy recipe! I omitted the oil, and used approximately 1 teaspoon butter. I am a terrible flipper, and the heavier banana pieces gave me a hard time. However, I wouldn't mash the bananas next time, because I prefer the sliced ones texture-wise. I will probably use the dish trick or bake the whole thing next time. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is pretty good- my kids gobbled it up for breakfast. I'll try this with apples or other fruit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was super tasty! Very bananay! We only had one egg, but it turned out fine. My boyfriend loved them! I put peanut butter and honey on mine, sooo good! I smooshed the bananas in the batter, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My husband loooves pancakes but loved the crepe-like texture of this recipe even more. Only used 1 chopped banana (so we can vary the toppings later) and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract per user recommendations. Using an 8" non-stick pan yields about 4 thin pancakes (not crepe-thin but thinner than your standard pancake). Used medium heat to brown one side and turned to low heat after flipping. Had no trouble flipping and there was no mess at all; I didn't even use oil. Topped with sliced bananas and nutella. Yum! Thanks nausheen for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good. I didn't have the issues other described with flipping it (which was surprising, as I can barely flip an egg without disaster). I STRONGLY SUGGEST COVERING IT WITH A LID WHILE COOKING; I did that and it cooked without issue. I followed the recipe except that I mashed the bananas with a fork before mixing them into the batter. I only had a 3.5 qt. saute pan (stainless, not non-stick), but the butter and oil were more than adequate to keep it from sticking. I cut it into four pieces, garnished it with more banana slices, and sprinkled it with powdered sugar. I feel like I got away with having dessert for breakfast - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenpete
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was REALLY big hit at our house. The flavor is really wonderful- it does take awhile to cook. My daughter loved it, a real treat for kids... we had it for breakfast, kind of like doughnuts, but it would also be good for dessert. Thanks so much for posting this unusual and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made this for my family. Everyone asked for more. Best use of ripe bananas! I added in vanilla and cinnamon. Omitted the oil--these were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States