Banana Flips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dee
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
My mom liked it, so that's a big compliment! Although mine turned into a 3 layer cake because I used round pans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
My dad had talked about this for so long and how he loves these! As suggested I used powdered sugar and had to leave my cakes in for an extra 7 minutes. I gave it to him for a Christmas snack and he absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Tastes nothing like banana flips. The cake is moist, but nothing spectacular. It needs sugar added to bring out the banana flavor. The "cream" is not light, not fluffy as the flips. It is a banana flavored buttercream. To even come close to the light and fluffy from the real flips you would need to add whipped cream or beaten egg white, as well as more banana flavoring and more sugar. I went with the beaten egg whites (7), a cup more powdered sugar, and a teaspoon more banana flavoring. It was edible then, but I think whip cream would be better than the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
These are fast and easy AND SCRUMPTIOUS!!! The only thing that I changed was to use powdered sugar instead of granulated - same amount. I assembled mine on a piece of floured parchment paper and then used an electric knife to cut them easily and then transferred them to a cake stand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious. My husband and children loved it! Like others, I added 2 very ripe, mashed bananas to the cake and used confectioner's sugar instead of granulated for the frosting. I made this as a cake, using 2- 8" round pans (increased baking time to about 22 minutes). I will definitely keep this recipe to use in the future. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REKBA99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I finally made this recipe today, and my family & I LOVED it. I have always been a big fan of the banana flips made by Hostess & this was so much better. I did make a couple of slight changes to the filling. I mixed the flour & milk together and cooked it until thickened. Instead of banana extract (I did'nt have any) I threw in a couple of ripe bananas while mixing the flour mixture with sugar/butter mix. This was so light & tasty I will definitely make again. Thank you Erin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This cake is AWESOME & does taste like the banana flips I had as a child!!! YUM-O)!. If the sugar is granulated in the filling, try whipping it longer. I see better results after 8-10 minutes with my Kitchen Aid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Very Easy to make. My kids loved helping make them and eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Excellent. Texture of cake and filling are almost exactly like the original. The cake must be beat well and the filling as others have mentioned should be mixed for about 10 minutes to get rid of any granular texture. Even when using powdered sugar beat well. I also added a banana to cake as suggested. Very RICH! Recommend with a cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!! Also, have always used granulated sugar for the filling & have no problems with it. The end product is creamy, smooth filling! It's whipped in my Kitchen Aid between 6 & 8 minutes. It's a luscious filling that I want eat it with a spoon! This filling I use for cupcake filling & whoopie pies. To make a chocolate filling, I throw in powdered chocolate or cooled chocolate squares melted. YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Frozen Banana Bites

Frozen banana slices are adorned with peanut butter and coated in chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States