Banana Flips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Tastes nothing like banana flips. The cake is moist, but nothing spectacular. It needs sugar added to bring out the banana flavor. The "cream" is not light, not fluffy as the flips. It is a banana flavored buttercream. To even come close to the light and fluffy from the real flips you would need to add whipped cream or beaten egg white, as well as more banana flavoring and more sugar. I went with the beaten egg whites (7), a cup more powdered sugar, and a teaspoon more banana flavoring. It was edible then, but I think whip cream would be better than the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
These are fast and easy AND SCRUMPTIOUS!!! The only thing that I changed was to use powdered sugar instead of granulated - same amount. I assembled mine on a piece of floured parchment paper and then used an electric knife to cut them easily and then transferred them to a cake stand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious. My husband and children loved it! Like others, I added 2 very ripe, mashed bananas to the cake and used confectioner's sugar instead of granulated for the frosting. I made this as a cake, using 2- 8" round pans (increased baking time to about 22 minutes). I will definitely keep this recipe to use in the future. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REKBA99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I finally made this recipe today, and my family & I LOVED it. I have always been a big fan of the banana flips made by Hostess & this was so much better. I did make a couple of slight changes to the filling. I mixed the flour & milk together and cooked it until thickened. Instead of banana extract (I did'nt have any) I threw in a couple of ripe bananas while mixing the flour mixture with sugar/butter mix. This was so light & tasty I will definitely make again. Thank you Erin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This cake is AWESOME & does taste like the banana flips I had as a child!!! YUM-O)!. If the sugar is granulated in the filling, try whipping it longer. I see better results after 8-10 minutes with my Kitchen Aid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Very Easy to make. My kids loved helping make them and eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Excellent. Texture of cake and filling are almost exactly like the original. The cake must be beat well and the filling as others have mentioned should be mixed for about 10 minutes to get rid of any granular texture. Even when using powdered sugar beat well. I also added a banana to cake as suggested. Very RICH! Recommend with a cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!! Also, have always used granulated sugar for the filling & have no problems with it. The end product is creamy, smooth filling! It's whipped in my Kitchen Aid between 6 & 8 minutes. It's a luscious filling that I want eat it with a spoon! This filling I use for cupcake filling & whoopie pies. To make a chocolate filling, I throw in powdered chocolate or cooled chocolate squares melted. YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very good and almost does taste like the banana flips we bought as kids. I did use the powdered sugar as suggested. I would like to see a little more air in the filling but other than that it is easy and I am sure I will have to make again, Thanks for sharing,,:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This turned out awesome. It tasted just like the banana flips you could buy years ago....I used granulated sugar in the filling, next time I will beat longer or use powdered sugar as suggested. I might also try to add a banana to the cake batter, but it tasted great without needing to make any changes. My picky young eaters LOVED it !! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States