Banana Flavored Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Yay! I looked all over the internets for a recipe like this! I wanted to find a yummy banana spread (for toast) that didn't involve another fruit - just bananas. I just wasn't sure what all could go into it (I lack creative juice when it comes to food) until I found this recipe. Now, I didn't follow it *exactly* because I just guestimated the amounts of each ingredient as I wanted to make this with just one banana. If you do all this *to taste* you can get a wonderfully banana-y flavor with a a kick of nutmeg (and cinnamon - I took that advice). I also took the advice to use a very ripe banana. They're half way to mush anyways, and much sweeter. ALSO, what added to the deliciousness was texture: don't blend this up! Hand-mush that fruit and you will get some lovely lumps of banana-y goodness. ALSO, I didn't cook this. Don't know how long it will keep, but I jarred the little extra that I had and stuck it in the fridge... we'll see! Maybe I'll try cooking it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darayman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This turned out perfect! I followed this recipe to a "t", only adding a touch of nutmeg AND cinnamon. Great, great, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This banana-ry treat was marvelous on toast! And to think that I thought Avocado Jam was devine...ME! PROFESSOR RESPEUTEON! For an extra treat, scoop it onto your porridge! That's what I call BANANALICOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
My kids loved the great taste!!! A yummy topping on toast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Excellent! My kids love jam sandwiches and I made this, as we had run out of store bought jam. I think we will keep doing this instead - they love it and its affordable! Only thing is I wasn't sure how long to leave it on the stove top and don't think I left it on long enough, and I also burnt it a bit initially because I had the stove top too hot. Very yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Big Mess
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was very easy to make, though it did take quite a few ripe bananas to get up to 4 cups. It was very delicious and seemed to taste the best on pancakes. I tried putting it on scrambled eggs and that tasted good too. *Yes, I do have odd tastes* My entire family loved it, and it is much healtheir then the usual syrup we use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mess

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This came out very tasty, though I only tasted it by itself, not ON anything. I quartered the recipe because I only had 3 bananas, which was a little over 1 cup mashed. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and a few drops of vanilla extract. Thanks for this recipe, I'm sure I'll make it again someday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe is an excellent alternative to making banana bread for using up over-ripe bananas! We have definitely enjoyed this both times I have made it, although I can't imagine having enough old bananas in order to be able to have 4 cups worth once mashed: so the recipe was quartered the first time, and halved the second, and both were still very yummy warm on French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nantes, Pays De La Loire, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Mancini
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a great recipe. Was very easy. I made it in the bread maker on the jam setting came out thick like a banana butter. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mancini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States