Banana-Dulce de Leche Pie (Banana-Caramel Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
So the final product wasn't too bad, but making it became a disaster! I followed the directions and put the condensed milk in a sauce pan and filled it with water half way up the can and boiled it for 3 hrs...well I ended up with half a can of dark carmel (over cooked) and half a can condensed milk. I tried putting it all in a saucepan and mixing it all together and that worked somewhat. It was burned in some places, but I still served it! Everyone said it tasted fine, but it could have been better, my suggestion...boil can in water with can completely submerged, and only boil for 2-2and 1/2 hrs. That might work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alytholen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I make a very similar recipe, and you can buy the condensed milk already caramalized in the can in the mexican/latin foods section in most grocery stores. MUCH MUCH easier this way! I whip one of these pies up in no time this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
A similar recipe is known as Banoffi (or Banoffee) pie in the UK and was reputedly created at the Hungry Monk restaurant in Jevington, East Sussex in 1971. Their recipe requires the condensed milk to be boiled fully submerged for 5 hours. Originally it was served on a pastry crust. However I use digestive biscuits crushed and mixed with butter for the base, which I assume is similar to the graham base in US, but I don't cook this - simply cool in fridge before topping with the dulce and bananas. 3/4 pint cream is whipped with 1tsp sugar and 1/2tsp instant coffee. p.s. in UK pre-made dulce de leche is now available by the maker of a popular brand of condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Great easy recipe! I submerged the can in boiling water and kept the can covered with water the whole 3 hours and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffer258

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a great easy recipe, lay the unopened can on its side and boil for 3 hours, turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This pie was very good. If you can't stand the clattering sound of the can boiling, lay it on its side. Next time, I'll use two cans of condensed milk because the caramel was everybody's favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
After reading another review, I flipped my can over every time I added more water to my pot. Very good and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was very good . Made it for a crowd of 90.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I'm from Canada and President's Coice brand came out with a jarred dulce de leche sauce...and earlier this year they came out with a banana version and it is so yummy. i used the banana flavour and a nilla wafer crust sooo sweet but so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Just a note on how we make the caramel part. 2 cans of condensed milk totally covering in water in a pressure cooker on low heat for 40 minutes. This will save you a lot of time. Also, when opening the cans either cool before opening or if you don't want to wait cover with a towel while opening so you don't get any in your face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Frozen Margarita Pie

A refreshing dessert catered to adults taste buds.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States