Banana-Dulce de Leche Pie (Banana-Caramel Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Very tasty, but extremely rich, of course! I used a pre-made crust and a jar of dulce de leche spread. Yum! It made the perfect ending to my Cinco de Mayo dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claeli69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
OMG THIS WAS THE BOMB! I read the reviews from others and laid the can on its side for the whole 3hrs and it came out perfect!I only was able to put 3 banana's in teh pie but it was still GREAT. I will try this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qteepieinvegas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Ok, I guess. It's very sweet, which why wouldn't it be, it's a pie!!! The process of boiling for 3 hours though?! Don't recommend this recipe for summer weather. It makes the house really hot! The energy it uses to boil, then keep the house cool with the air conditioning, then the waiting for 3 long hours is silly. Just go buy a can in the mexican isle of your grocery store for heavens sake. Over all, the recipe is pretty good. If the condensed milk does not come out just the right consistancy, it WILL be runny the next day. I promise! But hey, that's why they invented spoons, right? Oh-and use a nice pastry crust that you've prebaked and cooled. It is much better than graham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renae92

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Char A.
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I threw away my first crust because it was too wet. I made the dulce de leche and whipped cream in different ways than the recipe. Check out my blog to see how my pie turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Just a note on how we make the caramel part. 2 cans of condensed milk totally covering in water in a pressure cooker on low heat for 40 minutes. This will save you a lot of time. Also, when opening the cans either cool before opening or if you don't want to wait cover with a towel while opening so you don't get any in your face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
gooey and messy and really time consuming, but it was good although it was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Rotate can and chill pie for longer than an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for my husband’s birthday pie he loved it so much, and so did all the guests. It was well worth the 3hrs to make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDishner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I can't believe how easy it is to make caramel! Nexy time, I would make two cans, instead of one because it really is the best part. I boiled the can on its side on the low setting of an electric hot pot and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a great easy recipe, lay the unopened can on its side and boil for 3 hours, turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States