Banana-Dulce de Leche Pie (Banana-Caramel Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I'm from Canada and President's Coice brand came out with a jarred dulce de leche sauce...and earlier this year they came out with a banana version and it is so yummy. i used the banana flavour and a nilla wafer crust sooo sweet but so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
LOVED this! I was lazy so I bought a premade crust, and cool whip. But since I had a can of sweetened condensed milk to use I did boil it according to directions. This is awesome! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This pie was a huge hit! I followed what some of the reviewers said and I fully submerged the condensed milk and it turned out great. Will definitely make again! Oh, and this pie is VERY sweet so you can only eat a slither.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
We used to eat this pie on special Sundays when I was growing up. So glad to find an easy recipe! Delicious. My only changes from the original recipe were to submerge the can in water and not use quite so many bananas. Otherwise, I followed it to the letter and it came out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Not impressed....for one, covering half the can in boiling water for 3 hours resulted in like others, half dark creme half light creme, and thicker lumpier on the bottom, I had to put it in the mixer to mix or blend out the lumps for a smoother consistancy. I will remember to submerge the whole thing next time, however, I feel it needed a drop or two of vanilla. Now, I used a chocolate pie crust because I didn't have graham cracker crumbs on hand like I thought...go figure. I ended up having to use 6 bananas because there was SO much creme. And I placed it in the freezer for a bit so that it could thicken some, so I could whip the topping. My kids loved it, because it was a sweet treat for them, however I didn't like it at all, When cutting the pie, it oozed out (more or less, exploded out) everywhere that before I could get a good photo of it, it was all over the place, best served in a bowl and not on a plate. I'm sorry, to me it still tasted like milky sugar, not a caramel after 3 hours. I'm driven now to find a solution to make a good or better pie with a better result, then a liquid mess. My apologies. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Love how easy it was, but not a fan of the fact that the carmel ended up overflowing. Perhaps I just overmeasured, but it still was a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Five stars because it was unexpectedly good. This actually came out fantastic. It IS super sweet but it is supposed to be. After reading over comments, I made sure to lay the can on it's side and turn it often (every time I added water). I didn't want to waste a pie crust so I followed the directions on the box for the crust, minus the sugar as the pie is so sweet already. This time I happened to have a tub of Cool Whip and it came in handy because I was in a rush to start cooking dinner by that time. Next time I shall give the self-made whipped topping a try. I was skeptical about serving this with dinner because my husband doesn't dig sweets all that much, but surprisingly he really loved the caramel. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoAlizeRaps

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Absolutely divine! I used a ready made pie crust and boiled the milk for 2 and 1/2 hours on its side. My family couldn't wait to dig into it, so it sat in the fridge for only about 20 minutes. I would def. serve this to any company! Thanx for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
My boyfriend and I have nicknamed this dessert "death pie," as it is so clearly unhealthy and decedent. That said, we loved it. We live in Chile where dulce de leche is called majar and there are whole supermarket shelves dedicated to selling it ready made. Since graham crackers are hard to come by here, I used an oatmeal cookie crust which I HIGHLY recommend. It gave a great texture to pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I originally found this recipe about 2 thanksgivings ago (we were having a thanksgiving Mexican party at work since you get so much turkey) and have made it regularly ever since. BIG NOTES: I have never had a problem with my condensed milk because I cook FULLY submerged and turn the can every time I add water. Also, I noticed the crust will slide down and then it ends up really small so I do the crust with 1.5 cups graham crackers and 3/4 c butter and build it up super high along the sides. And make sure it sets! I was in a time crunch once and threw it together and got in the car and it slid everywhere. Definitely needs to set in the refrigerator for a little while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States