Banana-Dulce de Leche Pie (Banana-Caramel Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a great easy recipe, lay the unopened can on its side and boil for 3 hours, turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rawia
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
When it comes to the flavor, it's DELICIOUS! But the caramelized milk didn't harden like the picture shown, it was all runny! but who cares it tasted good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rawia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was just okay. It was very runny and VERY sweet. Too sweet. I did boil the can for 3 hours and it was completely covered with water the whole time. I will not make this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Took this to a dinner party and it was a huge success. Had no problem with the condensed milk - I did cover it in the pan, boiled for three hours, and voila - caramel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This pie was very good. If you can't stand the clattering sound of the can boiling, lay it on its side. Next time, I'll use two cans of condensed milk because the caramel was everybody's favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Fantastic recipe, and so easy to make. Admittedly it does take a little while to cook the caramel, but it is so worth it. As other reviewers have suggested, using ready made caramel makes cooking this pie a breeze. The only thing I have altered is the crust, I don't like biscuit crusts so I cut up a sponge cake and lined a pie dish with it. Works a treat! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abbey
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love this Pie. I used this pie as a refrence since i had most of it down by heart. I do use a regular pie crust instesd of the grahm cracker. But over all a wonderful tasty pie. I recomend. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I make a very similar recipe, and you can buy the condensed milk already caramalized in the can in the mexican/latin foods section in most grocery stores. MUCH MUCH easier this way! I whip one of these pies up in no time this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
After reading another review, I flipped my can over every time I added more water to my pot. Very good and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
A similar recipe is known as Banoffi (or Banoffee) pie in the UK and was reputedly created at the Hungry Monk restaurant in Jevington, East Sussex in 1971. Their recipe requires the condensed milk to be boiled fully submerged for 5 hours. Originally it was served on a pastry crust. However I use digestive biscuits crushed and mixed with butter for the base, which I assume is similar to the graham base in US, but I don't cook this - simply cool in fridge before topping with the dulce and bananas. 3/4 pint cream is whipped with 1tsp sugar and 1/2tsp instant coffee. p.s. in UK pre-made dulce de leche is now available by the maker of a popular brand of condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Frozen Margarita Pie

A refreshing dessert catered to adults taste buds.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States