Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Loved it. I did not have a grinder for the flaxseeds and it turned out fine. I actually kind of like it and will make it that way in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I made his recipe with some changes. Used only whole wheat flour, 3 tbs honey for the sugar, 1/4 cu ground roasted sesame seeds and toppes with sunflower seeds. Great healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I have had this exact recipe for at least 15 years! I remember seeing it in magazine in a doctors waiting room. I scribbled it on a piece of paper I found in my purse. I only wrote the ingredients (w/measurements), temp and time. No instructions. But that is the beauty of this recipe. Mix wet and dry ingredients separately, then add dry into wet. I grind all BUT 2 Tbsp of the flax. I know there is no health benefits, but i love the crunch of the seeds with pecans. I like most of the reviews, I also split the sugar between brown and white, and equally split the flour between all purpose and 100% whole wheat. My go to, healthy, banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
a healthy alternative to regular banana bread! thought it would dry out with all the flax but the fruit and oil kept it moist. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I changed up the recipe a bit. I used 1 stick butter, I know some people resist butter but I use it in my baked goods on occasion. I used 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar instead of white sugar. I used Hodgson Mill white flour and instead of 1 1/2 cups I used 2 cups. I also used 1 teaspoon each of baking powder, baking soda and salt. I used 3/4 cup chopped dates and mixed them in with the banana , sugar mixture. I added 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla. This made 4 mini loaves. And oh yeah I put two tablespoons Trader joes pecan praline granola on each loaf before baking! And thanks to some other recommendations I used flax meal and increased it to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Excellent and flexible! I only add ground flax and no dates cuz that's what I have on hand. I also throw in walnuts, cranberries and a bit of kefir. I smear pb on top too. Good recipe as is or if you want to get creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mugge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good - made as described (did use ground flax seed meal as recommended) and just ate a slice while still warm. Yummy. It is a bit sweet but that is OK. Dates are a nice change but maybe the tartness of raisins would be good. It will be hard not to have another slice right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahgeary
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I've made this recipe at least a dozen times as is, and it's great as it is. In the past i've subbed raisins for dates, since dates are the one ingredient i don't normally have on hand. Today i adjusted the recipe quite a bit and it's so yummy i wanted to share: Instead of 100% AP, used 1 C AP Flour, 1/4 c whole wheat, & 1/4 c wheat germ. Added a heaping tablespoon of ground espresso, ~1/4 c chopped pistachio, 1/2 t of cinnamon. Omitted the whole flax seeds (kept the ground flax). My adjustments were deliciously inspired by the muffin i had this weekend at True Food Kitchen in Santa Monica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Great simple recipe as written. I like including the little bit of whole flax for the texture but i can see why others don't. Made into muffins as well for the kid's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I have used this recipe often. My family and friends love it and so do I. I slowly changed from all white flour to 2/3 whole wheat and 1/3 white. It works well and feels more healthy. I have also substituted walnuts for dates for one of my friends but personally prefer dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States