Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I just made this & had a slice not ten minutes ago. It is yummy beyond words! And even better b/c it's so healthy. A note to readers, however - flaxseed must be ground before consumption to obtain any health benefits. I replaced the white flour with whole wheat, used four bananas, and sub'd applesauce for oil. I also halved the sugar, but it was still too sweet. The dates & bananas give it ample sweetness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Yummy! I wanted to make a really healthy yet delicious bread and this is it! I made it even healthier: I used 4.5 bananas and cut out the oil. I also didn't grind any of the flax seed, simply because I didn't have the tools to do so. I used splenda instead of sugar. Finally, I used 1 c. of whole wheat flour and .5 c. of white flour. It was delicious! Next time I'll use less splenda (probably 1/4 c), because the dates & bananas make it sweet enough as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Really yummy. I've made this a few times, and it's always perfect. Last time, I used 1/2 cup of dried cranberries and raisins instead of dates--turned out great. I've also replaced some (about half) of the ground flax seed w/ oat bran--also tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I really enjoyed the bread. I used the blender to ground the flax seed, substituted 1 TBSP Stevia for the sugar, unsweetened applesauce for the oil & raisins instead of dates. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 stars only because I wasn't as fond of the whole flax seed texture(will probably ground all the flax seed next time). It is a great way to have a sweet treat that is so much better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is a moist, delicious bread that's not too sweet- just right for toasting. Instead of oil, I add another banana. I use pecans instead of dates and part whole wheat flour. However, this recipe is great as is- other than the flax, this is identical to my Mom's recipe and her bread was devoured almost as soon as it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I like this and I will definitely make again. I used Milled flaxseed for all the flaxseed called four. About 3/4c. Also I used raisins instead of dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Have made a few times and still get excellent feedback from all who have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Overall very good, everyone at work liked it. People were surprised by the flaxseed crunch. It could use a little more banana though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPS6294

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Moist and easy to make. I used hemp seed instead of ground flax seed as it also has a nutty flavor. Next time will try this recipe using raisins or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Excellent Recipe: My modifications: 1) used raisins, instead of dates 2) used all ground flaxseeds, no whole. I had heard that whole flaxseeds should never be used for ingesting or cooking, only ground. So I grounded the whole amount and put it all in there. The result is a nutrient-densed and delicous bread. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States