Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I sort of made this recipe- I used a couple substitutions. I used half and half whole wheat and white flour; applesauce instead of oil; egg replacer instead of eggs; I ground all the flaxseed; used 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup white; and added more dates. I made a batch of 10 big muffins and they turned out great. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
DE-licious! I substituted golden raisins for the dates and made muffins instead, but they are SO good...and healthy too! My boyfriend never likes anything healthy, but because they flax was ground, he didn't know the difference! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I made this bread and it was great, but I have one question, should I have used really ripe bananas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I made this recipe again this week (is this going to become a habit?)to split between two friends I'll be visiting, one in the hospital, one recently moved to a nursing home. They are both complaining about the food. I like the idea that I can butter two slices and wrap them together in plastic wrap and they will potentially keep for a couple of days, not that I expect them to. I used chopped dried prunes (not fond of dates) and fresh whole grain flour again. Perfect. Here's a neat trick when using frozen bananas as they are really yucky to work with once they thaw. Don't let them thaw! Slice them lengthwise in half as if for a banana split, hold them over your bowl and slide your thumb between the skin and the frozen banana and it will slide out in one or two pieces. By the time you have the rest of your ingredients ready, the bananas will be thawed enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I just made this & had a slice not ten minutes ago. It is yummy beyond words! And even better b/c it's so healthy. A note to readers, however - flaxseed must be ground before consumption to obtain any health benefits. I replaced the white flour with whole wheat, used four bananas, and sub'd applesauce for oil. I also halved the sugar, but it was still too sweet. The dates & bananas give it ample sweetness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Yummy! I wanted to make a really healthy yet delicious bread and this is it! I made it even healthier: I used 4.5 bananas and cut out the oil. I also didn't grind any of the flax seed, simply because I didn't have the tools to do so. I used splenda instead of sugar. Finally, I used 1 c. of whole wheat flour and .5 c. of white flour. It was delicious! Next time I'll use less splenda (probably 1/4 c), because the dates & bananas make it sweet enough as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Really yummy. I've made this a few times, and it's always perfect. Last time, I used 1/2 cup of dried cranberries and raisins instead of dates--turned out great. I've also replaced some (about half) of the ground flax seed w/ oat bran--also tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I really enjoyed the bread. I used the blender to ground the flax seed, substituted 1 TBSP Stevia for the sugar, unsweetened applesauce for the oil & raisins instead of dates. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 stars only because I wasn't as fond of the whole flax seed texture(will probably ground all the flax seed next time). It is a great way to have a sweet treat that is so much better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is a moist, delicious bread that's not too sweet- just right for toasting. Instead of oil, I add another banana. I use pecans instead of dates and part whole wheat flour. However, this recipe is great as is- other than the flax, this is identical to my Mom's recipe and her bread was devoured almost as soon as it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I like this and I will definitely make again. I used Milled flaxseed for all the flaxseed called four. About 3/4c. Also I used raisins instead of dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States