Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Love this recipe!! I make it about twice a week. My kids and husband love it and I like the healthy ingredients. I use 3/4 cup milled flax seed. I also use 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of a 1/2 cup of white sugar & instead of a cup and half of white flour, I use 3/4 whole wheat and 3/4 white. I use raisens instead of dates and have also added chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
My husband and youngest son really enjoyed. I read reviews and also did some changes. Used all natural apple sauce, splenda instead of sugar, ground all my flax seed, and used 3/4 cup all purpose flour & 3/4 cup whole wheat flour. Very moist and full of flavor. Thanks for a healthy recipe that actually taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Made this this morning. I used an egg replacer for the eggs and only used ground flax. Very good! Thanks to the reviewers for persuading me to make this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I used 3/4 all-purpose flour and 3/4 whole wheat; applesauce instead of oil; 3/4 ground flaxseed; added walnuts and pecans; and added ground cinnamon, nutmeg and clove (1/2 tsp each). It turned out very good. If you like spicy bread, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I couldn't get the whole flaxseed ground in my food processor so I used 1/2 c. bran flour in its place. Served at an office breakfast to rave reviews, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
FABULOUS!!!!!!! Made muffins...took 23 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I sort of made this recipe- I used a couple substitutions. I used half and half whole wheat and white flour; applesauce instead of oil; egg replacer instead of eggs; I ground all the flaxseed; used 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup white; and added more dates. I made a batch of 10 big muffins and they turned out great. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
DE-licious! I substituted golden raisins for the dates and made muffins instead, but they are SO good...and healthy too! My boyfriend never likes anything healthy, but because they flax was ground, he didn't know the difference! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I made this bread and it was great, but I have one question, should I have used really ripe bananas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I made this recipe again this week (is this going to become a habit?)to split between two friends I'll be visiting, one in the hospital, one recently moved to a nursing home. They are both complaining about the food. I like the idea that I can butter two slices and wrap them together in plastic wrap and they will potentially keep for a couple of days, not that I expect them to. I used chopped dried prunes (not fond of dates) and fresh whole grain flour again. Perfect. Here's a neat trick when using frozen bananas as they are really yucky to work with once they thaw. Don't let them thaw! Slice them lengthwise in half as if for a banana split, hold them over your bowl and slide your thumb between the skin and the frozen banana and it will slide out in one or two pieces. By the time you have the rest of your ingredients ready, the bananas will be thawed enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States