Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This makes great bread. I'm going to replace this recipe with my traditional banana bread recipe. The only thing I did differently is to replace the all-purpose flour with whole wheat integral flour. I also added a handful of walnuts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I did half white and half whole wheat flour and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and several dashes of mace. I left the whole flax seeds in for crunch. The batter filled 3 mini loaf pans which baked for 25 minutes in a convection oven. I thought it delicious, my husband thought it too sweet. It's stayed fairly most after 2 days. I'm making it again today and will try all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I have made 3 banana bread recipes from this site. This is by FAR the best even though it's the "healthiest". Yeah, yeah, I know there's sugar in it, but at least there's wheat flour (in mine), tons of ground flax (I bought mine milled and didn't use any whole seeds since they are worthless) and MY KIDS LOVE IT!!! Can't ask for better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I was looking for a way to use some flax meal that I had on hand and this recipe was perfect! Instead of using whole flax seed, I just used all ground. Also substituted raisins for dates since I didn't have dates on hand. This make a great, hearty bread. Even my picky kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I substituted the oil with unsweetened applesauce, used half whole-wheat flour, skipped the whole flax seeds and sprinkled walnuts on top. It came out very moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Great recipe! My only addition to your excellent recipe using flaxseed is, for myself I use Rejuv! for my flaxseed meal. It comes easy to measure and has added value of flax hull lignans which are concentrated. Great antioxidant and packed with Omega-3s. Easy to cook with. I use it daily in my smoothies. I've done the research and it is the best and superior to the flaxseed meal you get at a local health food store or enlightened grocers. Thanks again for the great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow! I'm amazed. First time using flaxseed to cook with and I'm loving it. I took liberties with the recipe in several ways- my flour was a mix of white, whole wheat and wheat germ. Agave syrup for the sugar and used half as much as was called for. Used egg whites only, no yolks. Used applesauce for the oil and doubled it. I still credit the recipe's creator completely. Lovely as muffins and in a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Impressed. I thought it would be extremely dry and crumbly and would fall apart. I like a dense banana bread. I didn't put in the dates (didn't have any), so this is still a good recipe without the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Loved it!!! Had to cook it maybe an extra 10 minutes; may do that again next time or may use a 9x5 pan instead of an 8x4. Had a piece once it cooled and then wrapped it in plastic wrap and left it on the counter. Perfectly moist and delicious the next day. Next time I will add more dates and chop them less. I added pecans and golden raisins as well. Also used wheat germ and bran in place of the ground flaxseed since I only had whole and my processor wouldn't grind them. Replaced the oil with applesauce and used half whole wheat flour. Added the 1/4c whole flaxseed but as other posters have said, there's really no benefit to it; will possibly add chocolate chips instead next time. Awesome recipe, very quick to prepare and very easy. Bakes up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Exceptional Bread. My family loves it. Plus it is high in fiber and is very healthy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States