Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I was looking for a way to use some flax meal that I had on hand and this recipe was perfect! Instead of using whole flax seed, I just used all ground. Also substituted raisins for dates since I didn't have dates on hand. This make a great, hearty bread. Even my picky kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I substituted the oil with unsweetened applesauce, used half whole-wheat flour, skipped the whole flax seeds and sprinkled walnuts on top. It came out very moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Great recipe! My only addition to your excellent recipe using flaxseed is, for myself I use Rejuv! for my flaxseed meal. It comes easy to measure and has added value of flax hull lignans which are concentrated. Great antioxidant and packed with Omega-3s. Easy to cook with. I use it daily in my smoothies. I've done the research and it is the best and superior to the flaxseed meal you get at a local health food store or enlightened grocers. Thanks again for the great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow! I'm amazed. First time using flaxseed to cook with and I'm loving it. I took liberties with the recipe in several ways- my flour was a mix of white, whole wheat and wheat germ. Agave syrup for the sugar and used half as much as was called for. Used egg whites only, no yolks. Used applesauce for the oil and doubled it. I still credit the recipe's creator completely. Lovely as muffins and in a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Impressed. I thought it would be extremely dry and crumbly and would fall apart. I like a dense banana bread. I didn't put in the dates (didn't have any), so this is still a good recipe without the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Loved it!!! Had to cook it maybe an extra 10 minutes; may do that again next time or may use a 9x5 pan instead of an 8x4. Had a piece once it cooled and then wrapped it in plastic wrap and left it on the counter. Perfectly moist and delicious the next day. Next time I will add more dates and chop them less. I added pecans and golden raisins as well. Also used wheat germ and bran in place of the ground flaxseed since I only had whole and my processor wouldn't grind them. Replaced the oil with applesauce and used half whole wheat flour. Added the 1/4c whole flaxseed but as other posters have said, there's really no benefit to it; will possibly add chocolate chips instead next time. Awesome recipe, very quick to prepare and very easy. Bakes up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Exceptional Bread. My family loves it. Plus it is high in fiber and is very healthy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
At 55 minutes mine was overcooked. Next time I will check it sooner. It's still good but a little on the dry side. I used cranberries & chopped walnuts instead of dates. Added a little oat bran in place of the whole flax seed. Added homemade apple pie spice. Thanks, I love to find healthy things to eat in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very tasty muffins! I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and made 12 big muffins. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I've made this recipe a couple of times now. The first time I followed it exactly and my husband loved it! I tried it again and added 2 cups of fresh cranberries instead of the dates and a tsp of vanilla. It turned out much better than I expected. I also made muffins instead of a loaf (350 degrees for 22-25 minutes). The muffins are not too sweet and the cranberries give a nice tartness which adds contrast. I'll continue to use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States