Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I didn't use dates, i substituted the vegetable oil for applesauce, and I used toasted flax seeds to give it a peanut-y taste. This is absolutely delicious! All it needed was a little of the white sugar substituted for brown sugar. It's real moist and, not to mention, healthy! Great breakfast side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I really love this recipe very simple the only adjustment I made was to add 1/4 cup sour cream and made it into 12 muffin great, moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Wow! You would never guess this was so healthy. I'm going tear up my 1-stick-of-butter-4-eggs-2-cups-of-sugar banana bread recipe and throw it out! I tweaked this one a bit, though. Not that it needs modifications to be good, but I just wanted to change it up a bit. I used only 2 very ripe bananas and it still had a great banana taste. Substituted 4 tb unsweetened applesauce for the oil, used packed brown sugar instead of white, and ended up adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter. Also followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and didn't use the whole flaxseed. I used some mixed dried fruit instead of dates and added only 1/4 cup. Made the batter into 12 muffins, they rose well and came out great. Family loved it. Will be making this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Make sure all your flax is ground. Very tasty, and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Extremely moist bread! It's guilt-free, too, if the oil is substituted for 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. honey, as suggested by others. It's chock full of good stuff for you! My only hesitation about giving this bread full stars is that is that it tastes of both banana bread, and a healthy grain bread... it is different. I'm not sure what to eat it with. I think it works best as a morning bread with coffee, like a grainy muffin would. Perhaps the flavor still needs to grow on me. For those who are used to eating flax, etc. you will love this! I love that this is a healthy "power" bread, is moist and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Wow! really happy to have found this- using stuff I have. I did modify this recipe as follows: 1/2 milled flax, no whole. Added 1/3 c. oatmeal instead. also used 1/2 applesauce and 1/4 c honey instead of oil & sugar. added 1/2 tsp vanilla, left out dates altogether. I baked 12 muffins for 15 minutes, and they came out PERFECT. I have been playing with recipes to come up with a yummy healthy muffin that was compliant with a church-wide Daniel fast- and the way I jimmied this is exactly what I wanted. I am usually a "butter it" girl when it comes to muffins, but I inhaled this one as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Solid bread. Used raisins since I didn't have any dates. Nice for an easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great taste, especially if you love dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Wonderful quick bread. I used applesauce in place of oil. I did not add whole flaxseed, just used the half cup ground. I replaced the dates with 1/2 cup dried cranberries. Baked perfectly in convection oven for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very delicious... and pretty guilt free :) Followed the directions exactly except did not add dates. Mine took exactly 60 minutes to bake and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebs138

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States