Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Make sure all your flax is ground. Very tasty, and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Extremely moist bread! It's guilt-free, too, if the oil is substituted for 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. honey, as suggested by others. It's chock full of good stuff for you! My only hesitation about giving this bread full stars is that is that it tastes of both banana bread, and a healthy grain bread... it is different. I'm not sure what to eat it with. I think it works best as a morning bread with coffee, like a grainy muffin would. Perhaps the flavor still needs to grow on me. For those who are used to eating flax, etc. you will love this! I love that this is a healthy "power" bread, is moist and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Wow! really happy to have found this- using stuff I have. I did modify this recipe as follows: 1/2 milled flax, no whole. Added 1/3 c. oatmeal instead. also used 1/2 applesauce and 1/4 c honey instead of oil & sugar. added 1/2 tsp vanilla, left out dates altogether. I baked 12 muffins for 15 minutes, and they came out PERFECT. I have been playing with recipes to come up with a yummy healthy muffin that was compliant with a church-wide Daniel fast- and the way I jimmied this is exactly what I wanted. I am usually a "butter it" girl when it comes to muffins, but I inhaled this one as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Solid bread. Used raisins since I didn't have any dates. Nice for an easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great taste, especially if you love dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Wonderful quick bread. I used applesauce in place of oil. I did not add whole flaxseed, just used the half cup ground. I replaced the dates with 1/2 cup dried cranberries. Baked perfectly in convection oven for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very delicious... and pretty guilt free :) Followed the directions exactly except did not add dates. Mine took exactly 60 minutes to bake and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebs138

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This makes great bread. I'm going to replace this recipe with my traditional banana bread recipe. The only thing I did differently is to replace the all-purpose flour with whole wheat integral flour. I also added a handful of walnuts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I did half white and half whole wheat flour and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and several dashes of mace. I left the whole flax seeds in for crunch. The batter filled 3 mini loaf pans which baked for 25 minutes in a convection oven. I thought it delicious, my husband thought it too sweet. It's stayed fairly most after 2 days. I'm making it again today and will try all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I have made 3 banana bread recipes from this site. This is by FAR the best even though it's the "healthiest". Yeah, yeah, I know there's sugar in it, but at least there's wheat flour (in mine), tons of ground flax (I bought mine milled and didn't use any whole seeds since they are worthless) and MY KIDS LOVE IT!!! Can't ask for better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States