Banana Date Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I've been searching for the 'perfect' banana bread for a long time... The hunt is over, this is it! This bread is moist, full of flavour, not too sweet and healthy! I tweaked it a bit based on other reviews. I milled the full amount of flax (if left whole your body doesn't absorb any of its health benefits), replaced the oil with half a cup of unsweetened apple sauce, used a full cup (if not a little more) of the dates, threw in a handful of dried cranberries that needed to be used, added an extra banana and to spice it up used a generously heaped teaspoon of ground cinnamon. I topped the loaf with a sprinkling of rolled oats. I baked it for the complete amount of time given in the recipe as 55 minutes wasn't enough in my oven; but I recommend starting off with the minimum amount of time, and checking to see if it's done and baking longer if necessary. I will never use another recipe for banana bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I love this bread. It's a nice twist on traditional banana bread, with the bread itself not being as sweet as my traditional recipe, but the dates adding little bursts of sweetness to the bite. The flax makes a nice crunch as well. Altogether yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
this recipe was just o.k., my kids didnt like it at all and we are into health foods, too dry, not enough flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I was very pleasantly surprised by this bread. It was moist and delicious even after the changes I made: (1) grind all the flax; (2) substitute 1/2 c. applesauce for the oil; and (3) substitute whole wheat flour for white flour. It turned out fabulous -- even my toddler ate up a whole huge chunk of it! Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
The first time I made this, I made the bread, the second time I made muffins. It was delicious. When I made the muffins I added walnuts and pecans.....Perfect recipie as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was a great recipe. I modified it to be a bit more healthy. I also added a few dried apricots to the dates. I boiled 1 cup of water, removed the pan from heat, and added the dates and apricots, which I let sit in the hot water for 15 minutes to make them tender. I also used about 1/2 cup walnuts and toasted them in the oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes, then set aside. I used only 1/2 cup ground flax seed since I don't like the grainy texture of whole flax seeds. I used 1/8 cup oil instead of 1/4 cup. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. Then I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour. I mixed all the ingredients together, including the nuts. Since I have young kids that love finger foods, I baked these in mini cupcake holders at 350F for 20 min. Thank you for the recipe! I will definitley use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
delicious and easy! love the combination of bananas and dates! i didn't have any flax seed so i used natural wheat bran instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Yesterday evenening, I was looking for flax seed recipes and up came this one. Lo, I had 3 old bananas on the counter just starting to put on spots. I've never made b-bread before. Never liked the taste, but baby, this one was a big surprise ... also very moist. I used a mix of white and wheat flour and a mix of ground hazelnuts and ground flax seed. Didn't have whole flax seeds, so didn't add them. Baked it in a bundt cake form for about 40 min. It was good. Cake was gone from my house by this morning. Verdict from the kids. Make it again. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
A great "go to" healthier basic recipe that you can customize very easily with success! The texture, flavor, and rise was perfect. I removed 2 bananas and added Nutella; used La Tourngelle Walnut Oil; egg WHITES; unbleached Organic Pastry Flour at same timing- check the last 5 min., though, because with Flaxseed it heats faster, just let it cool for 10 minutes- it will continue to cook during this time. Incredibly easy. Fantastically good. Everyone loved its nutty, delicately banana, chocolatey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Atherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Great recipe! Loved it. Made a few changes... used whole wheat flower, ground all the flaxseed, used brown sugar, used 4 bananas instead of 3, and I topped it with chopped walnuts before placing it in the oven. Turned out spectacular :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_alyss1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States