Banana Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Delicious recipe, but comes out more like a cake than bars. Doesn't need icing, but very nice served with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Quite tasty, even without the frosting. I opted to halve the amount of sugar, as my bananas were fairly ripe and the dates quite sweet on their own. I only had extra large eggs, so this was more like a cake than a dense bar as it rose quite a bit. I mashed the bananas instead of slicing and kept the date whole- would cut them really small next time as my toddler didn't enjoy their texture and picked them out. Will definitely make this again, and you can make this even healthier with other changes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These were OK, but I probably won't make them again since there are so many way better recipes on this site. They lasted quite awhile and it's not something I would make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We enjoyed this combination of bananas, dates, and almonds. After reading other reviews, I decided to cut the sugar in half and that was about right. I think that the full amount of sugar + sweet dates + frosting = sugar overload. I mashed 2 bananas and sliced 2 more which I folded in at the end with the dates and almonds. If you think you might not frost these, make sure to tuck the banana slices down into the batter as they become discolored on the surface. I think this recipe is enhanced with the frosting. It is just the right amount to cover the top and add zip but not be that overly thick frosting that has become the rage lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I reduced the sugar to 1c (1/2 white and 1/2 brown) and mashed the banana as well. It was plenty sweet and so delicious while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was delicious but I only gave it 4 stars because I made a few changes based on instinct. 1) I only used 1 cup sugar - 1/2 white & 1/2 brown - and it was plenty sweet. 1 1/2 cups would be way too sweet. 2) I added 1 tsp. cinnamon - adds huge flavour. 3) I used walnuts instead of almonds - I think almonds have more flavour and prefer them in baked goods. 4) I used 1 cup flour and 1 cup rolled oats instead of 2 cups flour. I love oats and it added wonderful texture. I baked in a loaf pan. Very moist, very flavourful - family loved it and devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This cake was quite good! I followed the recipe with the exception of mashing my bananas (4 full ones) and adding 1/2 t. cinnamon. I brought it into work and it was well received. I think the addition of the lemon frosting really brightened it up. I added chopped dates to the top to give everyone's palette's a heads up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
WOW! I had overripe bananas and did not want to make bread or cookies. Found this one and it is already in the recipe book. I am eating my 4th piece now! I did make a few changes. I used extra light olive oil instead of butter. Reduced the sugar by 1/2cup and used 1/2 brown/white. I replaced the almonds with walnuts and added coconut. I did not ice it at all. Super yummy. I do think I will reduce the amount of sugar by another 1/2 cup next time. The dates make it plenty sweet. If I was to ice it for taking it to an event, I would definately reduce the sugar. Oh yes, I mashed the bananas. I used 3 very ripe ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a truly wonderful recipe. I did change the recipe a bit. Split suger between lt. brwn sugar and white sugar, used 5 ripe bananas - coursely chopped for some added texture and since I love spices - added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of cinn. They can out so moist and the banana flavor is exceptional!!! Do try this recipe. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My third date bar. What can I say, I'm addicted to dates. I think I've finally realized though, that to achieve the denser texture I'm looking for, I would omit or drastically reduce all leavening agents. Secondly, this would have been even better with more banana, at least one more big ripe one. Then, more almonds and dates, at least so that it's 1 and 1/4 cup dates and 3/4 cup almonds. I had to use oil instead of butter, just because I was out, and it ended up fine, just a little dry. If using oil make sure to add 1/4 a cup of some other moisture, like applesauce, oil, or butter. Due to a dislike of icings and frostings, I omitted it all together and served the bar heated with a dollop of vanilla ice cream. I actually wanted to make this recipe because I had old bananas and I wanted to try something different rather than banana bread, but to me it really was exactly like banana bread. I really wish I had added more dates and almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States