Banana Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
Great combination of date and banana flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This recipe was great! I had some dates to use up, so I decided to give it a try. My family loved them. They were moist and delicious, although my 4 year old thought the icing was too lemony, and made me scrape most of it off his pieces. I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This was an interesting, yummy recipe! The cake is quite sweet, and the icing tart - exactly the opposite of what one might expect of a snacking-type cake. I made a few changes... the thought of big smushy banana chunks in my cake made me shiver - so I substituted the 2 c. sliced bananas for 1 c. mashed bananas - ahhhhh, much better... mild, banana flavour, no chunks, still a very moist cake! Also, I used half whole wheat and half white flour to give it even more of a "health kick". Thanks for an interesting recipe, Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I made a few changes to this based on what I had in the kitchen. I used walnuts instead of almonds & used one mashed banana. Bar was sticky & good tasting. Icing could of used a bit more taste, but had good consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
What a great dessert this is.The only thing I did different was to mash the bananas and coarsely chop the almonds.The lemon icing was fantastic.I love citris so I added a teaspoon of lemon zest too.There isn't a thing that I could add to improve on this.I gave one of my coworkers a piece and he thought it was awesome too.I can't wait for the next time I make this.I'll be taking this to the next potluck dinner at church too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
These were really really yummy. I changed the recipe a bit by cutting out the dates and adding a cup of chocolate chips instead, and they turned out great. Also, I had to double the recipe for the icing, because the regular amount simply wasn't going to cut it. Next time I make them I will omit the lemon juice from the icing and simply add milk instead, so it's just like vanilla icing. I found that the whole lemon taste didn't really match the bars at all. Other than that though, they're were delicious and I just love them. Chewy and moist, and even better straight from the frige! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Very good recipe but it more like cake than bars. The only addition I made to the cake was adding 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the batter. The frosting instead of 2 Tbs lemon juice we used the pulp from a fresh lemon & some juice to equal 2 Tbs. I also needed to increase the powdered sugar to 2-1/2 cups. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Top quick recipe for making with a toddler. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESEWEASEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Wow, this tastes SO good. I love dates and bananas together and this is no exceptioin. I cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup, didn't add any almonds because I didn't have any on hand, and used dried dates as opposed to the softer, moist ones packaged in plastic (although I'll definitely try to use those next time I make this). The end result was a moist delicious cake-like dessert that is just awesome with the lemon glaze on top. I made this on a whim and out of boredom, but I'll definitely be making this again and again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My third date bar. What can I say, I'm addicted to dates. I think I've finally realized though, that to achieve the denser texture I'm looking for, I would omit or drastically reduce all leavening agents. Secondly, this would have been even better with more banana, at least one more big ripe one. Then, more almonds and dates, at least so that it's 1 and 1/4 cup dates and 3/4 cup almonds. I had to use oil instead of butter, just because I was out, and it ended up fine, just a little dry. If using oil make sure to add 1/4 a cup of some other moisture, like applesauce, oil, or butter. Due to a dislike of icings and frostings, I omitted it all together and served the bar heated with a dollop of vanilla ice cream. I actually wanted to make this recipe because I had old bananas and I wanted to try something different rather than banana bread, but to me it really was exactly like banana bread. I really wish I had added more dates and almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States