Banana Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Katy
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This cake was quite good! I followed the recipe with the exception of mashing my bananas (4 full ones) and adding 1/2 t. cinnamon. I brought it into work and it was well received. I think the addition of the lemon frosting really brightened it up. I added chopped dates to the top to give everyone's palette's a heads up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
WOW! I had overripe bananas and did not want to make bread or cookies. Found this one and it is already in the recipe book. I am eating my 4th piece now! I did make a few changes. I used extra light olive oil instead of butter. Reduced the sugar by 1/2cup and used 1/2 brown/white. I replaced the almonds with walnuts and added coconut. I did not ice it at all. Super yummy. I do think I will reduce the amount of sugar by another 1/2 cup next time. The dates make it plenty sweet. If I was to ice it for taking it to an event, I would definately reduce the sugar. Oh yes, I mashed the bananas. I used 3 very ripe ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a truly wonderful recipe. I did change the recipe a bit. Split suger between lt. brwn sugar and white sugar, used 5 ripe bananas - coursely chopped for some added texture and since I love spices - added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of cinn. They can out so moist and the banana flavor is exceptional!!! Do try this recipe. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My third date bar. What can I say, I'm addicted to dates. I think I've finally realized though, that to achieve the denser texture I'm looking for, I would omit or drastically reduce all leavening agents. Secondly, this would have been even better with more banana, at least one more big ripe one. Then, more almonds and dates, at least so that it's 1 and 1/4 cup dates and 3/4 cup almonds. I had to use oil instead of butter, just because I was out, and it ended up fine, just a little dry. If using oil make sure to add 1/4 a cup of some other moisture, like applesauce, oil, or butter. Due to a dislike of icings and frostings, I omitted it all together and served the bar heated with a dollop of vanilla ice cream. I actually wanted to make this recipe because I had old bananas and I wanted to try something different rather than banana bread, but to me it really was exactly like banana bread. I really wish I had added more dates and almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Wow, this tastes SO good. I love dates and bananas together and this is no exceptioin. I cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup, didn't add any almonds because I didn't have any on hand, and used dried dates as opposed to the softer, moist ones packaged in plastic (although I'll definitely try to use those next time I make this). The end result was a moist delicious cake-like dessert that is just awesome with the lemon glaze on top. I made this on a whim and out of boredom, but I'll definitely be making this again and again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Top quick recipe for making with a toddler. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESEWEASEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Very good recipe but it more like cake than bars. The only addition I made to the cake was adding 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the batter. The frosting instead of 2 Tbs lemon juice we used the pulp from a fresh lemon & some juice to equal 2 Tbs. I also needed to increase the powdered sugar to 2-1/2 cups. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
These were really really yummy. I changed the recipe a bit by cutting out the dates and adding a cup of chocolate chips instead, and they turned out great. Also, I had to double the recipe for the icing, because the regular amount simply wasn't going to cut it. Next time I make them I will omit the lemon juice from the icing and simply add milk instead, so it's just like vanilla icing. I found that the whole lemon taste didn't really match the bars at all. Other than that though, they're were delicious and I just love them. Chewy and moist, and even better straight from the frige! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
What a great dessert this is.The only thing I did different was to mash the bananas and coarsely chop the almonds.The lemon icing was fantastic.I love citris so I added a teaspoon of lemon zest too.There isn't a thing that I could add to improve on this.I gave one of my coworkers a piece and he thought it was awesome too.I can't wait for the next time I make this.I'll be taking this to the next potluck dinner at church too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I made a few changes to this based on what I had in the kitchen. I used walnuts instead of almonds & used one mashed banana. Bar was sticky & good tasting. Icing could of used a bit more taste, but had good consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States