Banana Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
The sweet batter and tart icing do really work well together. I was a bit disappointed that my "cake" turned out like cake and not like the "bar" that is pictured. Not sure if I added too much baking powder or something else was off. I will try it again, because it was so tasty, but be more cognisant of measures or perhaps use an additional banana or more oil/butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Always looking for a good bread / muffin recipe for ripe bananas so I don't have to throw them away -- this is a good one! We are watching our sugar intake, so I only used 1 cup of sugar and omitted the frosting. These were still wonderful! Hubby ate 1/4 of the pan in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I just finished making this cake! Two pieces later....it's awesome! I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar and 1/2 cup baking Splenda. I also used Eggbeaters in place of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I'm gluten and milk free and still found this to be a great recipe. I used gluten free flour and added 1/2 tsp of xanthum gum (not sure if it was really needed but did it just in case), used the olive oil instead of the butter as someone suggested, cut the sugar to one cup (1/2 white sugar, 1/2 coconut sugar) and added some grated coconut. It came moist and delicious and I didn't even bother with the frosting. I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Delicious recipe, but comes out more like a cake than bars. Doesn't need icing, but very nice served with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Quite tasty, even without the frosting. I opted to halve the amount of sugar, as my bananas were fairly ripe and the dates quite sweet on their own. I only had extra large eggs, so this was more like a cake than a dense bar as it rose quite a bit. I mashed the bananas instead of slicing and kept the date whole- would cut them really small next time as my toddler didn't enjoy their texture and picked them out. Will definitely make this again, and you can make this even healthier with other changes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These were OK, but I probably won't make them again since there are so many way better recipes on this site. They lasted quite awhile and it's not something I would make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We enjoyed this combination of bananas, dates, and almonds. After reading other reviews, I decided to cut the sugar in half and that was about right. I think that the full amount of sugar + sweet dates + frosting = sugar overload. I mashed 2 bananas and sliced 2 more which I folded in at the end with the dates and almonds. If you think you might not frost these, make sure to tuck the banana slices down into the batter as they become discolored on the surface. I think this recipe is enhanced with the frosting. It is just the right amount to cover the top and add zip but not be that overly thick frosting that has become the rage lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I reduced the sugar to 1c (1/2 white and 1/2 brown) and mashed the banana as well. It was plenty sweet and so delicious while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was delicious but I only gave it 4 stars because I made a few changes based on instinct. 1) I only used 1 cup sugar - 1/2 white & 1/2 brown - and it was plenty sweet. 1 1/2 cups would be way too sweet. 2) I added 1 tsp. cinnamon - adds huge flavour. 3) I used walnuts instead of almonds - I think almonds have more flavour and prefer them in baked goods. 4) I used 1 cup flour and 1 cup rolled oats instead of 2 cups flour. I love oats and it added wonderful texture. I baked in a loaf pan. Very moist, very flavourful - family loved it and devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States