Banana Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Great recipe for browning bananas! I changed it a bit.. :) Oat flour was replaced by whole wheat, marg for shortening, used brown sugar rather than white in the cake, added a bit flour to the crumb mixture and then sprinkled a bit of white sugar with cinnamon over the crumbs once it was ready for the oven. The white sugar topping gives it a little crunch. I'm saving this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very nice cake. I used old, frozen bananas and doubled the recipe so I could have some at home and take it to work as well. I looked up how much 1 cup of bananas is--it says 3 bananas. I don't know if that's accurate or not, but that's what I used. People who think this is heavy may want to make sure they are using 2 cups of oat flour--I did as the submitter suggested and processed 1 1/4 c for the cup of oat flour and got a bit more, so I adjusted the flour accordingly. This took a while longer to bake, and I changed the temp to 350, but that's all good. Most things take a while in my oven, and all ovens are different. My coworkers raved over this cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Big hit at this house. I was out of shortening so I subbed 1/3 cup of canola oil instead. I baked this in a 11 3/4 x 7 1/2 size pan and it was perfect thickness and the topping was a perfect amount. I froze a few pieces of this after it cooled and they defrosted nicely and the topping stayed crunchy. If you have "spotty" bananas to use up, this is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 dark pan. The outside was dark brown, but the taste was wonderful. Thinking about modifications for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is a flavorful, moist cake. I used lite cinnamon applesauce with a little olive oil for the shortening, and brown sugar for the white sugar. Making the oat flour was a great idea. I will be adding this to my regular recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I have been making this recipe for many years and I ALWAYS have rave reviews. I do cut the topping in half, or double the cake recipe. I agree with the others--two much topping for the small cake. I also add chocolate chips to the batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I did not care for this cake. I followed the recipe as stated. The bake time listed was not long enough so by the time the cake was cooked in the middle it was dry. There was WAY too much topping which became overcooked. I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Really loved this recipe. I made a few personalized changes. Doubled walnuts in the topping and cake mixture. Used 1/2 c oats instead. Included cinnamon in the topping. Used mixture of brown and white sugar for the cake mixture. Added more banana (1.5c). Used wheat flour instead of oat flour, and bread flour instead of all-purpose (b/c that was all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I give this a top rating due to the others who have reviewed it before me. I used canola oil, as one reviewer said, and I did cut the topping down to 1/3 cup on all ingredients except the butter, and it was perfect!! This was so delicious and the oat flour (which is super simple to make) gave it such a yummy nutty flavor which I love, especially since my husband and son both have nut allergies and I can't use the real thing! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
dry and not very tasty. would rather just have made banana bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chautauqua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States