Banana Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a child friendly recipe that could even go in a lunchbox. Yes you can find banana muffins with nuts or chocolate and if that is your thing do that. This is a simple yet classy recipe. Also everything in this recipe was in my pantry and I liked that. I made the ten muffins the recipe called for and there was plenty of crumb topping. My house smells so good from baking this I have to give five stars. I get that they are not "healthy" in that I left out bran and oats and whole wheat and I used butter. Oh well. My sick six year old ate them and it is the first day of Christmas Holidays! It is an economical treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made these this morning,5 stars only because I couldn't give more! Made as written other than subbed canola oil for the butter in the muffin batter. Used three medium bananas that I had in the freezer for a year and needed to use,I just freeze the bananas in their peel,they will be dark and mush when thawed but that is what makes them so great for baking. This recipe is a keeper,so easy and the muffins are moist.It made 12 cupcake sized muffins for me,with just a couple of tablespoonfuls batter left over. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Today I made this to die for recipe, Banana Crumb Muffins! I have to admit, I was a little nervous about making them at first. But since my name is Ms. Experiment, I made them anyways. The muffins part turned out great. I was glad I was reading the reviews while mixing the batter, because one review says "try not to OVER Mix the batter." I read that right on time! However, the crumb part...ummm let's just say I went over board on the sugar and the topping RUNNITH OVER! LOL :~))) They didn't stick and the over look and taste was GREAT! I WILL NEVER WASTE ANOTHER BAD BANANA AGAIN! I wish I could attach a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mnb
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Very good - with a couple additional spices ... Very moist. Cooked for 18 mins exactly - I got twelve nice size muffins. I used cupcakes liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deepa Lutawan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shakenbake58
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
They look fantastic, as soon as they cool down I'm sure they will taste as good as they look
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Terrible!! I added cranberries to them and that was the one and only redeeming quality. Well actually, they made the house smell nice. The taste was NOT there. The crumble was good but the taste of the actual muffin was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
WOW - No wonder this is rated high by so many....They are AWESOME and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These were great! I did only minor adjustments. Instead of melted butter I used one tablespoon of canola oil, 1/3 cup homemade applesauce and a tablespoon of homemade apple butter my dad made (Not sure what he puts in it but it has some nice flavor and sure is yummy). I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, and instead of 1/4 cup of white sugar I used 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, and 1/2 cup white sugar, per other reviewers recommendations . In the flour mixture I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of nutmeg. I baked these at 350 instead because I was using a cupcake pan, which I think is smaller than muffin pans as I ended up with 12 and still had a bit left over, though baked just a tad longer. For my topping, I added just a tad more butter to crumble, 1 tsp of cinnamon as opposed to the 1/8 tsp suggested, and a bit of white sugar as I did not quite have 1/3 cup of brown sugar left since I put it in the muffin itself, and some rolled oats. The one mistake I did make, was using a suggestion from another reviewer who said to add the topping on 5 minutes before it is done baking. Don't do this! My muffins had already risen, so the topping rolled right off, made my pan a mess, and of course did not bake into the muffin itself. (I should have known better). Besides, you are not supposed to interrupt baking from what I understand. All-in-all, again, great recipe even though I didn't follow it to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
The reviews don't lie! These muffins are amazing. My husband begs me to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States