Banana Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Superb! Following other reviewers' suggestions, I added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 3/4 tsp. cinnamon to the muffin batter. I also used canola oil in place of the melted butter and 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown. In the crumb topping I increased the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. These are very good and will go in my 'keepers' file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
OH MY WORD!!!! I rate this 10 Stars!!!!! Made it exactly to recipe and it is outstanding! Hubby said that this is a must recipe for when we open a Bed and Breakfast. I used 4 small to medium sized very ripe bananas and it made 11 muffins. The topping was just the right amount. Thanks so much for submitting this ~now~ family favorite and staple!!! Delicious doesn't do these justice! Enjoy! NOTATION: 1-10-04 I wanted to update and tell you all that I made a double batch today and it made 4 mini loaves which baked at 350 for 30 minutes. Hope this helps someone out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2526 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I had a bunch of very ripe bananas, so I decided to make these muffins. DELICIOUS! Following the suggestions of others, I used 1/3 cup of oil instead of butter. This made 12 generous-sized muffins. They melted in my mouth. Yum! And, for what it's worth, 1/8 cup equals 2 tablespoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I just baked these this morning before coming to work, and they are DELICIOUS!!! The only alterations I made was that I added about 1 tsp. cinnamon to the muffin batter, and I also took the suggestion of others and used 1/3 c. oil instead of the butter. The recipe made 12 BIG muffins, I baked them exactly 20 minutes, and they came out perfect. The muffins are moist and not too sweet. The crumb topping worked great and adds the perfect touch. Thanks for a great recipe Lisa, I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
752 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
These muffins are very good. To make them healthier, I replaced 1/2 c. flour w/ 1/2 c. whole wheat flour; used low fat margarine instead of butter; cut the sugar to 1/2 cup; used 1/4 tsp. cinnamon for more flavor. Muffins did very moist and flavorful. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
585 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
These muffins are so moist and tasty! I always have a hard time with muffins sticking to the pan or the muffin cups. These slide out perfectly. I decided to add the crumb topping about 5 minutes before taking them out of the oven. This prevents the crumb topping from melting into the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
569 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Whoops, after I started this recipe I realized I had no baking powder, but I continued without it and it didn't seem to matter! I baked this as a loaf, in a standard bread pan for about 35 minutes. The bread is delicious--very moist and tender. Normally I like my banana bread/muffins with nuts, but because of the delicious (and crispy) topping, I didn't miss the nuts at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Very yummy and very easy! I did some plain, some with walnuts, and some with chocolate chips. I do NOT recommend the choc chips, but with or without nuts were excellent!! I also did the 2 bananas & 4 Tbsp of applesauce and it was great. The crumb topping is perfect. I had no problem getting 12 large muffins from the batter. A definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This is a very moist & tasty recipe. My 1 year old is allergic to eggs, so I omitted the egg & added an extra banana to the mixture & it turned out AWESOME! I used mini muffin tins & my 11 year old son gobbled them up! Next time, I too will hold off on the topping until the last 5 minutes of baking - Thanks Lisa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Ok - to address all the people who are substituting oil for butter - stop doing it! You're compromising the taste. To make sure your muffins are nice and moist just add an extra egg. I made these last night. I used to make Extreme Banana Nut Bread from this site, but this is the one I'll make from now on. As I said, a few small adjustments and the muffins are perfect. Besides using butter and an extra egg, I used brown sugar and omitted the white sugar and it was plenty sweet. I put a tablespoon of vanilla in the batter and extra cimmamon. I also used a bit more flour for the topping and was very liberal with the cinnamon. It didn't sink into the muffin or get soggy the next day as some people have written. I bake all the time and these were almost all devoured by the kids and hubby in a matter of minutes. I'm doubling the recipe today to make teacher gifts. Putting them in festive baskets and adding boxes of tea as a nice treat for the Christmas break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States