Banana Cream Pie with Chocolate Lining Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
Excellent taste - my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Perfect timing. My niece had JUST asked me about making a Boston Cream pie. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
This is the best pie!!!!! The chocolate lining adds just the right amount of bitterness to counteract the sweet filling. Watch the amoung of the bittersweet chocolate though because too much can wreck the flavor. I don't think the whiskey is completely nessecery if you don't like it, but it does add a tiny bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I used more whiskey than called for, and the flavor was still really subtle. I also doubled the chocolate layer, since I was baking for another chocolate lover like myself. Silky, not too sweet, and delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
this is THE BEST banana pudding ever!!i made it for my husband as dessert for valentines day and it was a hit! note: plan to make it a day ahead because the flavors intensify the next day!!ANOTHER KEEPER, thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This one was okay. I think I should have let the filling boil a little longer because it seemed a little watery. (could also be the rainy weather). My husband and kids liked it, to me it was a little bland. I will use the whiskey next time instead of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Excellent flavor! However, the crust fell apart, so I used another recipe for a graham cracker crust (1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs + 6 Tbsp. butter + 1/2 cup granulated sugar). The bittersweet chocolate/heavy cream mixture was not enough, so I had to double it. I used Irish cream liqueur instead of Irish whiskey, and instead of topping the pie with 1 cup heavy whipping cream (whipped), I used lite whipped topping (like Cool Whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
this pie turned out great, although I made several changes (kind of combining it with another recipe on this site). First, I made a Vanilla Wafer cookie crust rather than graham crackers, and doubled the chocolate layer. Then, after making the filling I mixed in flaked coconut, using vanilla instead of whiskey. I then made a top layer using Cool Whip, and sprinkled with toasted coconut. Before serving, I decorated each serving with chocolate sauce. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States