Banana Cream Pie with Chocolate Lining Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mayelle
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
It was a really good recipe, the filling didn't look all too appetising so i just used extra banana and maybe a half of the filling. I also didn't use whiskey only because I didn't take my I.D with me to the shop XD! It was nice, couldn't find anywhere that sells grahm crackers so I used digestives instead, it was nice. And the shop close to my house didn't carry bittersweet chocolate so I used cooking milk chocolate which proved to be super nice! The only reason this recipe only got three stars is because I grew up loving banana cream pie that my grandpa made and this..even though it was nice, didn't compare very well. Sorry. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This pie was creamy and delicious. I left out the whiskey ingredient and used good vanilla. The chocolate lining gave it extra depth. It helped to keep the graham crust from getting soggy. I used half milk chocolate and half semi sweet chocolate for the lining. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHISPAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Perhaps it is just me, since the other raters seemed to enjoy it, but I defintely was not a fan of the "filling." To me this tasted like raw dough. Also the bittersweet chocolate was too bitter and the graham cracker crust crumbled easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
this was a good recipe, but the flavor was lacking something. The addition of the Irish Whiskey is a GREAT subtle flavor that was a real treat for both the filling and the topping. Additional constructive criticism would be appreciated. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I really liked this pie. It was very easy to make. I made it for my boyfriend and he loved it. I made some small changes. I added vanilla to the filling along with the whiskey. I also whipped up some extra cream and folded about a third of it into the filling to make the filling a little lighter tasting. The bittersweet chocolate was an awesome flavor addition. I had to add a little extra cream when I was melting the chocolate so that the chocolate wouldn't seize. The pie was definitely better after chilling for a day. The flavors were much more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pavilion, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Sorry, maybe it was just a matter of personal taste, but I was not impressed with the flavor of this recipe. Texture was good, just wasn't what I thought it would be. I thought the filling was a bit on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
The bittersweet chocolate lining was the only thing that let this recipe down. It was too bitter, I should have used ordinary chocolate or eliminated it altogether. For the base I used dark chocolate digestive biscuits and butter (no sugar) as I don't have Graham Crackers where I live. The custard was yummy but I was worried about it tasting of flour so added extra whisky. Next time I will add a split vanilla bean along with the whiskey. Overall this is a great recipe, just amend it to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
this pie turned out great, although I made several changes (kind of combining it with another recipe on this site). First, I made a Vanilla Wafer cookie crust rather than graham crackers, and doubled the chocolate layer. Then, after making the filling I mixed in flaked coconut, using vanilla instead of whiskey. I then made a top layer using Cool Whip, and sprinkled with toasted coconut. Before serving, I decorated each serving with chocolate sauce. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Excellent flavor! However, the crust fell apart, so I used another recipe for a graham cracker crust (1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs + 6 Tbsp. butter + 1/2 cup granulated sugar). The bittersweet chocolate/heavy cream mixture was not enough, so I had to double it. I used Irish cream liqueur instead of Irish whiskey, and instead of topping the pie with 1 cup heavy whipping cream (whipped), I used lite whipped topping (like Cool Whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States