Banana Cream Pie with Chocolate Lining Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mayelle
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
It was a really good recipe, the filling didn't look all too appetising so i just used extra banana and maybe a half of the filling. I also didn't use whiskey only because I didn't take my I.D with me to the shop XD! It was nice, couldn't find anywhere that sells grahm crackers so I used digestives instead, it was nice. And the shop close to my house didn't carry bittersweet chocolate so I used cooking milk chocolate which proved to be super nice! The only reason this recipe only got three stars is because I grew up loving banana cream pie that my grandpa made and this..even though it was nice, didn't compare very well. Sorry. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This pie was creamy and delicious. I left out the whiskey ingredient and used good vanilla. The chocolate lining gave it extra depth. It helped to keep the graham crust from getting soggy. I used half milk chocolate and half semi sweet chocolate for the lining. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHISPAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Perhaps it is just me, since the other raters seemed to enjoy it, but I defintely was not a fan of the "filling." To me this tasted like raw dough. Also the bittersweet chocolate was too bitter and the graham cracker crust crumbled easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
this was a good recipe, but the flavor was lacking something. The addition of the Irish Whiskey is a GREAT subtle flavor that was a real treat for both the filling and the topping. Additional constructive criticism would be appreciated. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I really liked this pie. It was very easy to make. I made it for my boyfriend and he loved it. I made some small changes. I added vanilla to the filling along with the whiskey. I also whipped up some extra cream and folded about a third of it into the filling to make the filling a little lighter tasting. The bittersweet chocolate was an awesome flavor addition. I had to add a little extra cream when I was melting the chocolate so that the chocolate wouldn't seize. The pie was definitely better after chilling for a day. The flavors were much more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pavilion, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Sorry, maybe it was just a matter of personal taste, but I was not impressed with the flavor of this recipe. Texture was good, just wasn't what I thought it would be. I thought the filling was a bit on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
The bittersweet chocolate lining was the only thing that let this recipe down. It was too bitter, I should have used ordinary chocolate or eliminated it altogether. For the base I used dark chocolate digestive biscuits and butter (no sugar) as I don't have Graham Crackers where I live. The custard was yummy but I was worried about it tasting of flour so added extra whisky. Next time I will add a split vanilla bean along with the whiskey. Overall this is a great recipe, just amend it to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
this pie turned out great, although I made several changes (kind of combining it with another recipe on this site). First, I made a Vanilla Wafer cookie crust rather than graham crackers, and doubled the chocolate layer. Then, after making the filling I mixed in flaked coconut, using vanilla instead of whiskey. I then made a top layer using Cool Whip, and sprinkled with toasted coconut. Before serving, I decorated each serving with chocolate sauce. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Excellent flavor! However, the crust fell apart, so I used another recipe for a graham cracker crust (1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs + 6 Tbsp. butter + 1/2 cup granulated sugar). The bittersweet chocolate/heavy cream mixture was not enough, so I had to double it. I used Irish cream liqueur instead of Irish whiskey, and instead of topping the pie with 1 cup heavy whipping cream (whipped), I used lite whipped topping (like Cool Whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States