Banana Cream Pie with Chocolate Lining Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed the directions exactly, except for making traditional whipped cream instead of whiskey whipped cream, as I was afraid my kids wouldn't like the whiskey flavor. The pie turned out absolutely perfect, and was a huge hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I gave this pie two tries. The second time when I made sure I followed the directions meticulously and was disappointmented. Unappetizing color, and the custard tasted too floury. So, sorry --
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Awesome pie! I made it vegan, using a walnut crust, mixed the chocolate with 2 Tbs. almond milk and 1 tsp. tapioca starch (perfect!), and used a coconut whipped cream. I added about 1/4 tsp. SALT to the custard, which I think helped the blandness (although I might up it to 1/2 tsp.), and I don't do alcohol, so I used 1 Tbs. vanilla instead (might try 2 Tbs. next time, but only had 1). I also added 1 cup unsweetened coconut to the custard after it thickened, which complimented the coconut whipped cream nicely. My first cream pie without pudding mix and it was super easy and delicious! The chocolate is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Made as directed. It is the best pie I have ever eaten. I've tweaked the recipe based on what I had on hand & it was still excellent. You can't miss with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is good. I doubled the chocolate and cream (used non-dairy cream and it worked fine). I used Amaretto liquor because i didn't have Irish whiskey but it was a bit overpowering and I think I'd leave it out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This had such a weird bland taste of the whipping cream maybe?...and ther wasn't enough chocolate to make it even close to decadent. Also didn't care for the bland taste mixed with whiskey taste...nobody liked this in our house...they all said the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love this recipe,LOVE how the cream is not banana flavored. However I have made changes that have for me enhanced it. I use Irish Cream instead of Irish whisky and I also do a different crust (I'm not a grahm cracker crust fan) I make a vanilla wafer crust (3 cups crushed vanilla wafers, 1/2 cup chopped toasted almonds and 2/3 cup butter, it makes way more than what a pie pan needs but I have yet to modify it and write it down). So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was amazing! I used amaretto instead of whiskey and added coconut to the whipped cream. My date for the evening was extremely impressed and insisted on taking a couple slices to work the next day. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duffymoon88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Have made this MANY times, even my 5 yr old helped. Did not change a thing, definitely use whiskey, gives it such a different flavor mixed with all the sweet chocolate and banana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
lovely!!!!!! i used the vanilla pudding recipe on the site for the custard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy yummy in my tummy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States