Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Delicious! I cooked the filling until it was very thick and then let it cool off completely before I put it in the pie shell. It turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I tried to make Banana cream pie one other time and it flopped. I tried this one and it was great!! It was so easy. One tip is to use cold eggwhites for your meringue and to chill your bowl and beaters before whipping!! It is so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
My husband requested banana cream pie for his birthday, so I decided to give this recipe a try. He said it was wonderful (and since he had 2 pieces, I believe him). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Everyone will LOVE this recipe! It is sooooo good and so easy! I didn't use cream of tartar and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Derickson Jambois

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Homemade, no store bought pudding mix nothing and it was a simple eazy recipe to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I made this tonight and it turned out really great. The custard was really thick and creamy. My husband really enjoyed it. I used sugar substitute instead of regular white sugar and you can't tell the difference!! I used Marie Callenders frozen crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I tried this recipe and for some reason I could not get the white cream for the top of the pie to Stiffen. I beat it for at least 20 minutes what am i doing wrong? I will rate this later cause I still have to cook the pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
absolutely THE BEST BANANA CREAM PIE EVER!!! I decided to use splenda instead of sugar...1 cup. I stirred it while cooking with my wire whisk...cooking until very thick. I also used 2 bananas, one layer over the bottom of the pie, then half the custard filling, one more banana and then the rest of the filling. The meringue, I added a pinch of baking powder along with the cream of tartar, it kept it from shrinking away from the edge (something I"ve always had problems with). I used the regular sugar for the meringue. I will most definitely make this pie again, thank you for a wonderful recipe!!! I have also used just coolwhip on the top of this pie after cooled or when serving. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This pie is wonderful. I loved the idea of NOT using a package of instant pudding. The trick to not having it turn out soupy is cooking it until it reaches the desired thickness. I used two bananas and added an extra dash of vanilla. Superb - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This is the best banana cream pie recipe out there, although it will be soupy if you don't up the cornstartch. Also, it makes too much pudding for one crust. I normally buy some smaller graham cracker crusts and fill those with the leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States