Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I tried to make Banana cream pie one other time and it flopped. I tried this one and it was great!! It was so easy. One tip is to use cold eggwhites for your meringue and to chill your bowl and beaters before whipping!! It is so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
My husband requested banana cream pie for his birthday, so I decided to give this recipe a try. He said it was wonderful (and since he had 2 pieces, I believe him). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
this pie didn't turn out for me, as soon as I took it out of the oven it leaked a clear syrup, and the slices of banana's gave the pie an unpleasant texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAYE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Everyone will LOVE this recipe! It is sooooo good and so easy! I didn't use cream of tartar and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Derickson Jambois

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Straightforward recipe. Hints for the novice. Stir the cooking custard until very thick so butter doesn't thin. Then cool before filling pie crust. Also, makes a very full 9" pie. Consider letting your child make a baby pie with the excess in a tart pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I made this last night, it tastes great. But the center was runny, it didn't set up at all. Any ideas from anyone as to why this would happen? Do I need to add more cornstarch then the 1/4 cup called for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Homemade, no store bought pudding mix nothing and it was a simple eazy recipe to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I honestly don't know what went wrong here, but it went very, very wrong. The finished product separated into a clear liquid and chunks of "pudding" floating in a pie crust. It was disgusting to look at and absolutely inedible. To be fair, the meringue was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I made this tonight and it turned out really great. The custard was really thick and creamy. My husband really enjoyed it. I used sugar substitute instead of regular white sugar and you can't tell the difference!! I used Marie Callenders frozen crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
The pudding looked and tasted great until I poured it in the pie shell, added the meringue and cooked it. Then it turned into soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States