Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
By far the best banana cream pie out there. I took off the merigue and just used whip cream and it was fabulous. Just keep stirring and cooking and it will go to the right constintly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
mmmmmmm....finally a real banana cream pie, not an artificial one made from instant pudding. I've been looking for a home made recipe because my husband loves banana cream pie, just not the kind out of a box. I didn't have a problem with it setting up at all, of course i did make a few changes. I've never had meringue on a banana cream pie so i didn't put it on, and topped with whip cream after it cooled. i also used a graham cracker crust (my hubby's favorite), and doubled the amount of banana (put one on bottom and one in the middle). It was AMAZING! the filling is rich and creamy and delish! It cooked up nice and thick for me. People must be having a problem with it being runny from cooking it with the meringue. This is the best cream pie i've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This is the best banana cream pie recipe out there, although it will be soupy if you don't up the cornstartch. Also, it makes too much pudding for one crust. I normally buy some smaller graham cracker crusts and fill those with the leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANNIE HIGHTOWER
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
My sister loved this pie. I think I over whipped my egg whites because my meringue wept after a while. I would definitly put this pudding with bananas and nilla wafers. Much more my style! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This pie is wonderful. I loved the idea of NOT using a package of instant pudding. The trick to not having it turn out soupy is cooking it until it reaches the desired thickness. I used two bananas and added an extra dash of vanilla. Superb - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Wells Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I like baking lemon meringue pies and the technique to making this pie sounded similar. So I tried it and mine was soupy too. If the filling needs to cool then please add that step to the recipe. I won't make this one again, unless the directions are more specific to eliminate the soupy outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
absolutely THE BEST BANANA CREAM PIE EVER!!! I decided to use splenda instead of sugar...1 cup. I stirred it while cooking with my wire whisk...cooking until very thick. I also used 2 bananas, one layer over the bottom of the pie, then half the custard filling, one more banana and then the rest of the filling. The meringue, I added a pinch of baking powder along with the cream of tartar, it kept it from shrinking away from the edge (something I"ve always had problems with). I used the regular sugar for the meringue. I will most definitely make this pie again, thank you for a wonderful recipe!!! I have also used just coolwhip on the top of this pie after cooled or when serving. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I liked the idea of this pie...made from scratch, but I had the same problem as other reviewers. I cooled the custard and it was thick and wonderful, but after cooking the meringue it was soup-like and never set again. It tasted OK and the meringue was great. Next time I might use the same custard recipe, but not bake it and use whipped cream on top instead of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I read the comments before I started, and I was sure to make the filling very thick and let it cool before filling the crust. The pie still turned out like soup. The meringue topping turned out well though. Not sure what the problem was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I thought the pie was great but the meringue was not sweet next time i will add more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkiraHyuga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States