Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This pie is wonderful. I loved the idea of NOT using a package of instant pudding. The trick to not having it turn out soupy is cooking it until it reaches the desired thickness. I used two bananas and added an extra dash of vanilla. Superb - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I like baking lemon meringue pies and the technique to making this pie sounded similar. So I tried it and mine was soupy too. If the filling needs to cool then please add that step to the recipe. I won't make this one again, unless the directions are more specific to eliminate the soupy outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
absolutely THE BEST BANANA CREAM PIE EVER!!! I decided to use splenda instead of sugar...1 cup. I stirred it while cooking with my wire whisk...cooking until very thick. I also used 2 bananas, one layer over the bottom of the pie, then half the custard filling, one more banana and then the rest of the filling. The meringue, I added a pinch of baking powder along with the cream of tartar, it kept it from shrinking away from the edge (something I"ve always had problems with). I used the regular sugar for the meringue. I will most definitely make this pie again, thank you for a wonderful recipe!!! I have also used just coolwhip on the top of this pie after cooled or when serving. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I liked the idea of this pie...made from scratch, but I had the same problem as other reviewers. I cooled the custard and it was thick and wonderful, but after cooking the meringue it was soup-like and never set again. It tasted OK and the meringue was great. Next time I might use the same custard recipe, but not bake it and use whipped cream on top instead of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I read the comments before I started, and I was sure to make the filling very thick and let it cool before filling the crust. The pie still turned out like soup. The meringue topping turned out well though. Not sure what the problem was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I thought the pie was great but the meringue was not sweet next time i will add more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkiraHyuga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This pie tasted great and everyone liked it. I think next time I would add more bananas to make it more banana-y. One word of advice: make sure to take the time to cook the pudding until it's VERY thick. A couple of times I almost took it off the heat before it was done, not realizing how long it would take or how thick it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I tried this recipe and for some reason I could not get the white cream for the top of the pie to Stiffen. I beat it for at least 20 minutes what am i doing wrong? I will rate this later cause I still have to cook the pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Delicious! I cooked the filling until it was very thick and then let it cool off completely before I put it in the pie shell. It turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
The pudding looked and tasted great until I poured it in the pie shell, added the meringue and cooked it. Then it turned into soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States