Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
What an incredible pie! We practice a whole food lifestlye, so I was thrilled to see a recipe that did not require me opening a box of pudding mix! The custard was perfect alone, never mind mixed in with the bananas. Although it takes a while, it is well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The pie had very good flavor. I cooked the filling up the night before and let it sit til the next morning in the fridge. When I checked it the next day the filling did not seem to have set up very well so I decided to heat it up again and added an extra T. of cornstarch, after it came to a boil I let it sit a few minutes in the pan while I sliced banana onto the bottom of the crust, I added half the filling and then sliced another banana and then the rest of the filling. I had a bit of filling left that I just put in the fridge to have as pudding. I opted to use the whipped topping rather than merengue, there was no way I was going to chance the filling failing after I'd worked so hard on it! The pie turned out very tasty and both my husband and I have enjoyed it. I can see where it would also be good as a coconut cream pie. The only reason I'm giving 4 stars is due to the trouble in getting it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i have used this recipe "as is" several times and it was really good. today i deleted the bananas and added 1 cup sweetened shredded cocoanut to the custard and it was fantastic! really easy and tastes great! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Served this along with some other desserts for a "Supper After Hours" group of 25 and got great reviews. I used whipped cream for the topping as I personally like Banana Cream Pie not Banana Meringue Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe!! I did make a few changes though. We like a Banana flavoured filling, so I added some Watkins Banana extract, made a Whipped Cream Topping instead of the meringue and topped it with fresh Banana slices when it was served, instead of the layer inside the filling. I also made the pie crust from scratch, and my family and friends Love it. They insist I make it every year for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was awesome! After one bite my sister told me that I had to make it once a week for her! I used cool whip to top it. I cooked the custard until it was very thick and then put it in a dish in the refrigerator for about an hour after reading some people's reviews saying that it got runny. I used twice the bananas and let it sit in the fridge put together for about 8 hours. It was perfect, my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe is superb. I use whipped cream as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
We loved this pie so much that we made 3 of them in one weekend. We couldn't get enough! I'm currently trying it with strawberries instead of bananas. I can't wait for it to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
it looks extremely presentable! I had a fun time baking this. Runny. I am going to try it again though today! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I cooked the custard for a long time and threw in a little extra cornstarch based on the warnings that the pie gets watery from other reviewers. I also allowed it to cool overnight. After making this pie, I learned from a friend that meringue pies break down after a day and get watery - it's just how meringue pies are. This isn't a make ahead recipe - I'd recommend constructing the pie and making the meringue and baking just before serving. This pie was a gift (given immediately after baking) and my friend really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States