Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great tasting custard - but had the same outcome as others. Cooked exactly like instructed here. All was fine until I cooked the meringue and what was beautiful custard before, turned to soup after. Will make pudding again, but won't cook a meringue onto it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was just as easy to make as a packaged mix without any preservatives. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone enjoyed it! Would definitely make again. I usually bake desserts the day before but I wouldn't try that with this because the crust would get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I had not made a Banana Cream Pie in more than 30 plus years. I used to use a recipe from my old Betty Crocker cook book, but it was destroyed several years ago. I tried this recipe and had the same problem and some others of it being runny. I should have read the other reviews before I made the pie I am sure now that I did not cook the custard long enough and I should have let it cool before putting it in the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I wish I'd read the reviews before I made this! Although the pudding does taste delicious, it was completely watery. I boiled it for quite a while and let it cool before pouring into the shell, and it seemed to have set up well at that point. I think putting it in the oven while baking the meringue ruined it. My graham cracker crust completely dissolved in this wet mess! I liked the idea of a meringue top, but think I'll stick with whipped cream next time so I can keep it cold. I also added an extra banana, and was very glad I did. One wouldn't have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Made this as directed except substituted Splenda for the sugar and for personal preference added 2 small bananas. Everyone loved this and it will be made again! TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made this with high hopes and made sure to let this boil and thicken and stir the entire time and it still turned to soup once it baked. It looked wonderful before it went into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
AMAZING!!! My first time making ANY sort of pie and this recipe rocked!! My family was extremely impressed and I already have requests to make this for an upcoming party. The meringue was delicate and wonderful, the custard was yummm (I even licked it off the pan later!). I did put in two layers of banana though, one at the bottom and one in the middle. Great recipe!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I didn't make the meringue, only the banana cream part, but it was SO GOOD!!! I sliced 2 bananas into the bottom of the crust, so it was completely covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MainStreetCook
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Amazing and was just what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MainStreetCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was amazing! Although this recipe needs to be written much better- it leaves out a lot of stuff- just google how to make the top and you won't mess up, I learned a lot of useful stuff! I also doubled the bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theycallmeoldfashioned

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States