Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Yes and there is an Error. It says " Remove from heat and stir in butter and 1 tablespoon vanilla." this should read and the 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Didn't set up for me. I have never made a banana cream pie so I read most of the reviews first. I was careful to follow the directions and applying what I read in the reviews. The egg whites seemed to take a long time even with chilled bowl and beaters. I shut off my mixer to find an answer and I read on-line if there is the smallest amount of yolk in the whites they might not peak. I went back to try finish beating and they finally started peaking. Clueless. Anyway, the meregue turned out fine but I'll probably not waste my time on this recipe again. Maybe I am one who just needs to use instant pudding mix :/ but it tasted good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great flavor, but let it sit a long time and it only firmed up on one side of the pie. That still didn't stop my aunt from eating it up though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Ranae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osceola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Aviston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I tried several other banana cream pies to find one for Thanksgiving and after a lot of soupy pies that tasted good but never quite set, we found a winner! Good thing, too, because we had just about had enough. This pie, cooked until very thick, worked great. It was easy to make, easy to serve, and tasted great. I didn't use meringue, so just cooled it and served with whipped cream. I will keep a can of sweetened condensed milk on hand so I can have all but the bananas on hand for an "emergency" pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I needed a pie for a birthday at work. I made individual servings and used oatmeal cookies the "crust". Super easy, I folded chopped Nanas into the pudding and used whipped cream to which I added some banana extract to. Just Yummy!Thanks Loretta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Warning: does come out excellent, but thickened, in this case, is bring custard to a boil. Otherwise it does turn runny! Suggestion about using 2 bananas is good too. When done right, it's an excellent pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Calculated to 3/4 recipe, and it filled my deep dish pie crust. DELISH, but as I suspected, the pudding is too soft and runs out of pie even after a night in the fridge. Presentation not good, but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Helped my 10 year old granddaughter make this pie. It was delicious. Just be sure to cook it till bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I have never made a banana cream pie before this recipe and I wont be looking for another recipe! My husband LOVESSS it (banana cream pie is his favorite!) I did add more banana though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The pie was too sweet for my taste but hubby said he loved it. I think this would be very cute if served in individual single serve pie crusts. To get the most of the the pie presentation you need to cool completely before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States