Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sean
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Good pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is just what I was looking for; a cream pie that does not require the use of a box of pudding! I have made this pie several times, it is my oldest sons' favorite! I have added chocolate chips to this pie with great results. The only change I have made to this recipe is to add more bananas to the pie; one is just not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrbrown76
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Best recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
My husband swears this is just like the pie his Grannie used to make! I tweaked it just a bit on his description of hers. I food processed one banana and added it to the pudding mixture while cooking it to make banana pudding. Next time I will use two less ripe bananas for the layers. Note* it must have a 1/2 teaspoon cream of tarter for the meringue to be stable. Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delicious! I was a big fail after 2 attempts at the Meringue, so I just used whipped cream. And I added 1 Tablespoon Banana Flavoring in with the Vanilla flavoring in the pudding.BEST PUDDING EVER!!!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!! PS- Read through tips in reviews before making, they probably would have helped me be successful with my meringue. But cool whip is yummy with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fskcmc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I have made banana cream pies for years, suggestion so the pie won't be runny, use a 1/2 cup of cornstarch , (the meringue will not cause the pie to be runny). If you don't use enough cornstarch or flour, whatever thickener you prefer, the pie will not set up. Once you top the pie with the meringue, set oven to broil and only leave pie in long enough till meringue is a light brown no more than 3 or 4 minutes leave oven door open a crack, keep a close eye on pie so it does not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is a great tasting recipe, however, it can be frustrating to make if you haven't made a lot of cream pies. I have finally mastered it but have changed how to make it. More the procedure then the ingredients, Here are my tips and changes. Must be done in a double boiler, heat 2 C milk (whole) and 1 C 1/2/& 1/2 heat until almost scalding but do not scald. Take out 1 C of hot milk and add to your whipped till foamy eggs (3 not 4) mix together well, add milk and eggs back into milk, cook for 20 minutes. stirring occasionally (This breaks down the eggs to allow for thickening process) Mix 2/3 C sugar, 1/3 C cornstarch & 1/2 tsp salt (mix together well.) After the 20 minutes add cornstarch mixture and stir constantly for 2 minutes and whisk it into the milk and egg mixture. Cook for another 15 to 20 minutes for the pudding to become thick and a spoon should be able to stand up on it's own in the pan. Take off and add 2 tbsp. butter and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I will start doubling this recipe, its a lot of work for 1 pie. Allow to completely cool in the fridge with a cover on top so that the pudding won't have a skin. Put in a cooled pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Yes and there is an Error. It says " Remove from heat and stir in butter and 1 tablespoon vanilla." this should read and the 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Didn't set up for me. I have never made a banana cream pie so I read most of the reviews first. I was careful to follow the directions and applying what I read in the reviews. The egg whites seemed to take a long time even with chilled bowl and beaters. I shut off my mixer to find an answer and I read on-line if there is the smallest amount of yolk in the whites they might not peak. I went back to try finish beating and they finally started peaking. Clueless. Anyway, the meregue turned out fine but I'll probably not waste my time on this recipe again. Maybe I am one who just needs to use instant pudding mix :/ but it tasted good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great flavor, but let it sit a long time and it only firmed up on one side of the pie. That still didn't stop my aunt from eating it up though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Ranae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States