Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is how my Grandma makes her pies. A couple of notes for the readers having trouble: remember that anything thickened with cornstarch MUST come to a boil to get the full thickening power. It really just will not work otherwise. Look for your pudding to have big bubbles forming and then it's good and cooked fully. Also, for 4 egg whites, I use 1 cup of sugar. This was a very tasty recipe and no preservatives or additives like with packaged puddings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Straightforward recipe. Hints for the novice. Stir the cooking custard until very thick so butter doesn't thin. Then cool before filling pie crust. Also, makes a very full 9" pie. Consider letting your child make a baby pie with the excess in a tart pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
absolutely THE BEST BANANA CREAM PIE EVER!!! I decided to use splenda instead of sugar...1 cup. I stirred it while cooking with my wire whisk...cooking until very thick. I also used 2 bananas, one layer over the bottom of the pie, then half the custard filling, one more banana and then the rest of the filling. The meringue, I added a pinch of baking powder along with the cream of tartar, it kept it from shrinking away from the edge (something I"ve always had problems with). I used the regular sugar for the meringue. I will most definitely make this pie again, thank you for a wonderful recipe!!! I have also used just coolwhip on the top of this pie after cooled or when serving. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I made this last night, it tastes great. But the center was runny, it didn't set up at all. Any ideas from anyone as to why this would happen? Do I need to add more cornstarch then the 1/4 cup called for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Delicious! I cooked the filling until it was very thick and then let it cool off completely before I put it in the pie shell. It turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I tried to make Banana cream pie one other time and it flopped. I tried this one and it was great!! It was so easy. One tip is to use cold eggwhites for your meringue and to chill your bowl and beaters before whipping!! It is so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This pie is wonderful. I loved the idea of NOT using a package of instant pudding. The trick to not having it turn out soupy is cooking it until it reaches the desired thickness. I used two bananas and added an extra dash of vanilla. Superb - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I read the comments before I started, and I was sure to make the filling very thick and let it cool before filling the crust. The pie still turned out like soup. The meringue topping turned out well though. Not sure what the problem was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
mmmmmmm....finally a real banana cream pie, not an artificial one made from instant pudding. I've been looking for a home made recipe because my husband loves banana cream pie, just not the kind out of a box. I didn't have a problem with it setting up at all, of course i did make a few changes. I've never had meringue on a banana cream pie so i didn't put it on, and topped with whip cream after it cooled. i also used a graham cracker crust (my hubby's favorite), and doubled the amount of banana (put one on bottom and one in the middle). It was AMAZING! the filling is rich and creamy and delish! It cooked up nice and thick for me. People must be having a problem with it being runny from cooking it with the meringue. This is the best cream pie i've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I liked the idea of this pie...made from scratch, but I had the same problem as other reviewers. I cooled the custard and it was thick and wonderful, but after cooking the meringue it was soup-like and never set again. It tasted OK and the meringue was great. Next time I might use the same custard recipe, but not bake it and use whipped cream on top instead of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States