Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe is superb. I use whipped cream as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
We loved this pie so much that we made 3 of them in one weekend. We couldn't get enough! I'm currently trying it with strawberries instead of bananas. I can't wait for it to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
it looks extremely presentable! I had a fun time baking this. Runny. I am going to try it again though today! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I cooked the custard for a long time and threw in a little extra cornstarch based on the warnings that the pie gets watery from other reviewers. I also allowed it to cool overnight. After making this pie, I learned from a friend that meringue pies break down after a day and get watery - it's just how meringue pies are. This isn't a make ahead recipe - I'd recommend constructing the pie and making the meringue and baking just before serving. This pie was a gift (given immediately after baking) and my friend really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was very tasty and as suggested, I made sure to let it get very thick before adding my bananas. Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
After being married for 17 years I finally found out my husband adores merinque pies, (banana and lemon) and I have never made them. The first thing I did was long on to allrecipes to find some good recipes. I made this and it turned out great! It had a fantastic flavor. Next time I may add more bananas but other than that I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Yum!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is how my Grandma makes her pies. A couple of notes for the readers having trouble: remember that anything thickened with cornstarch MUST come to a boil to get the full thickening power. It really just will not work otherwise. Look for your pudding to have big bubbles forming and then it's good and cooked fully. Also, for 4 egg whites, I use 1 cup of sugar. This was a very tasty recipe and no preservatives or additives like with packaged puddings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
tasted ok but totally fell apart. it was banana cream mush. i dont know what i did wrong - looked great in the pan. the next morning it was so watery i had to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was delicious! It was my first meringue pie and I didnt have enough sugar so I substituted with Splenda and it still came out perfect! I also used the microwave to make the filling instead of the stove top and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States