Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very professional looking cake. I added more bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassy Sutzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is awesome! I used a Graham cracker crust and extra banana, but otherwise followed the recipe. For those that don't want raw eggs (meringue doesn't cook to 140 degrees with this method), just cook 4 whites with 1 cup of sugar over a double broiler until it's 140 and immediately whip as usual. This will stabilize the meringue also, so it doesn't weep. It's a tad sweeter than typical meringue, but awesome. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Flavor was great until I put pie in the oven to brown tips, 15 min, way too long, Pie turned out runny, next time I may not even put the pie in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was a very good pie! I have never made a banana cream pie before, and it turned out beautifully! The meringue was awesome! I did let the custard cool before adding to pie. I also put my mixing bowl and beater in refrigerator before mixing the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
What an incredible pie! We practice a whole food lifestlye, so I was thrilled to see a recipe that did not require me opening a box of pudding mix! The custard was perfect alone, never mind mixed in with the bananas. Although it takes a while, it is well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The pie had very good flavor. I cooked the filling up the night before and let it sit til the next morning in the fridge. When I checked it the next day the filling did not seem to have set up very well so I decided to heat it up again and added an extra T. of cornstarch, after it came to a boil I let it sit a few minutes in the pan while I sliced banana onto the bottom of the crust, I added half the filling and then sliced another banana and then the rest of the filling. I had a bit of filling left that I just put in the fridge to have as pudding. I opted to use the whipped topping rather than merengue, there was no way I was going to chance the filling failing after I'd worked so hard on it! The pie turned out very tasty and both my husband and I have enjoyed it. I can see where it would also be good as a coconut cream pie. The only reason I'm giving 4 stars is due to the trouble in getting it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i have used this recipe "as is" several times and it was really good. today i deleted the bananas and added 1 cup sweetened shredded cocoanut to the custard and it was fantastic! really easy and tastes great! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Served this along with some other desserts for a "Supper After Hours" group of 25 and got great reviews. I used whipped cream for the topping as I personally like Banana Cream Pie not Banana Meringue Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe!! I did make a few changes though. We like a Banana flavoured filling, so I added some Watkins Banana extract, made a Whipped Cream Topping instead of the meringue and topped it with fresh Banana slices when it was served, instead of the layer inside the filling. I also made the pie crust from scratch, and my family and friends Love it. They insist I make it every year for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was awesome! After one bite my sister told me that I had to make it once a week for her! I used cool whip to top it. I cooked the custard until it was very thick and then put it in a dish in the refrigerator for about an hour after reading some people's reviews saying that it got runny. I used twice the bananas and let it sit in the fridge put together for about 8 hours. It was perfect, my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States