Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
What an incredible pie! We practice a whole food lifestlye, so I was thrilled to see a recipe that did not require me opening a box of pudding mix! The custard was perfect alone, never mind mixed in with the bananas. Although it takes a while, it is well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The pie had very good flavor. I cooked the filling up the night before and let it sit til the next morning in the fridge. When I checked it the next day the filling did not seem to have set up very well so I decided to heat it up again and added an extra T. of cornstarch, after it came to a boil I let it sit a few minutes in the pan while I sliced banana onto the bottom of the crust, I added half the filling and then sliced another banana and then the rest of the filling. I had a bit of filling left that I just put in the fridge to have as pudding. I opted to use the whipped topping rather than merengue, there was no way I was going to chance the filling failing after I'd worked so hard on it! The pie turned out very tasty and both my husband and I have enjoyed it. I can see where it would also be good as a coconut cream pie. The only reason I'm giving 4 stars is due to the trouble in getting it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i have used this recipe "as is" several times and it was really good. today i deleted the bananas and added 1 cup sweetened shredded cocoanut to the custard and it was fantastic! really easy and tastes great! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Served this along with some other desserts for a "Supper After Hours" group of 25 and got great reviews. I used whipped cream for the topping as I personally like Banana Cream Pie not Banana Meringue Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe!! I did make a few changes though. We like a Banana flavoured filling, so I added some Watkins Banana extract, made a Whipped Cream Topping instead of the meringue and topped it with fresh Banana slices when it was served, instead of the layer inside the filling. I also made the pie crust from scratch, and my family and friends Love it. They insist I make it every year for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was awesome! After one bite my sister told me that I had to make it once a week for her! I used cool whip to top it. I cooked the custard until it was very thick and then put it in a dish in the refrigerator for about an hour after reading some people's reviews saying that it got runny. I used twice the bananas and let it sit in the fridge put together for about 8 hours. It was perfect, my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe is superb. I use whipped cream as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
We loved this pie so much that we made 3 of them in one weekend. We couldn't get enough! I'm currently trying it with strawberries instead of bananas. I can't wait for it to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
it looks extremely presentable! I had a fun time baking this. Runny. I am going to try it again though today! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I cooked the custard for a long time and threw in a little extra cornstarch based on the warnings that the pie gets watery from other reviewers. I also allowed it to cool overnight. After making this pie, I learned from a friend that meringue pies break down after a day and get watery - it's just how meringue pies are. This isn't a make ahead recipe - I'd recommend constructing the pie and making the meringue and baking just before serving. This pie was a gift (given immediately after baking) and my friend really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States