Banana Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I needed a pie for a birthday at work. I made individual servings and used oatmeal cookies the "crust". Super easy, I folded chopped Nanas into the pudding and used whipped cream to which I added some banana extract to. Just Yummy!Thanks Loretta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Warning: does come out excellent, but thickened, in this case, is bring custard to a boil. Otherwise it does turn runny! Suggestion about using 2 bananas is good too. When done right, it's an excellent pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Calculated to 3/4 recipe, and it filled my deep dish pie crust. DELISH, but as I suspected, the pudding is too soft and runs out of pie even after a night in the fridge. Presentation not good, but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Helped my 10 year old granddaughter make this pie. It was delicious. Just be sure to cook it till bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I have never made a banana cream pie before this recipe and I wont be looking for another recipe! My husband LOVESSS it (banana cream pie is his favorite!) I did add more banana though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The pie was too sweet for my taste but hubby said he loved it. I think this would be very cute if served in individual single serve pie crusts. To get the most of the the pie presentation you need to cool completely before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great tasting custard - but had the same outcome as others. Cooked exactly like instructed here. All was fine until I cooked the meringue and what was beautiful custard before, turned to soup after. Will make pudding again, but won't cook a meringue onto it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was just as easy to make as a packaged mix without any preservatives. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone enjoyed it! Would definitely make again. I usually bake desserts the day before but I wouldn't try that with this because the crust would get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I had not made a Banana Cream Pie in more than 30 plus years. I used to use a recipe from my old Betty Crocker cook book, but it was destroyed several years ago. I tried this recipe and had the same problem and some others of it being runny. I should have read the other reviews before I made the pie I am sure now that I did not cook the custard long enough and I should have let it cool before putting it in the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I wish I'd read the reviews before I made this! Although the pudding does taste delicious, it was completely watery. I boiled it for quite a while and let it cool before pouring into the shell, and it seemed to have set up well at that point. I think putting it in the oven while baking the meringue ruined it. My graham cracker crust completely dissolved in this wet mess! I liked the idea of a meringue top, but think I'll stick with whipped cream next time so I can keep it cold. I also added an extra banana, and was very glad I did. One wouldn't have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States