Banana Cream Pie Made Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Excellent recipe!! As an experienced cook I suggest leaving out the crushed ice, it is NOT necessary to the thickening of the cream. Also, a graham cracker crust (ready made is fine), is really yummy with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This came out so awesome! For those reviewers who talked about it being too thick, I only had about a cup of cream so I substituted low fat milk for the other two cups and it came out perfect! Not to mention that it was a perfect consistency and lower in calories too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This is excellent! There are a couple of minor things I would change, one being to use more bananas. I used four small ones and would use five, depending on the consistency you want. Also, the crushed ice thing was odd to me. I tried to beat it until it melted, but still had to pick out several pieces. Not sure what would be the way around that. The only other thing I may change is to add a little sugar to the top layer of whipped cream when I beat it. It doesn't call for it, and none of the previous reviewers mentioned it, so I didn't use any. But if you taste the top layer by itself (I pick things apart to eat them :) it of course doesn't taste very good. All in all, a YUMMY pie that I will make again! Thank you Angela! Oh, by the way, I used No Roll Pie Crust II off this sight and it is so flaky and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Definitely the easiest and best banana cream pie I have made. My family insists on one a week. I found this recipe can make two pies easily, and they can be frozen for future use. I also recommend adding half a packet of sugar to the whip cream. A MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELE TIBBO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Best banana cream pie recipe ever. This was much better than anything store-bought and a hundred times better than anything from a cafeteria or buffet. The pies (I was able to make two with this recipe) were very rich and delicious, yet not too sweet. I didn't have any crushed ice on hand, but it made no difference as far as I could tell. Also, the whipped cream topping tasted much better after adding some powdered sugar. It's not necessary to pipe on the topping as I just used a spatula. Everything tasted great together in Nilla pie crusts. After making one with peach on the bottom my advice is to stick with the bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
[UPDATE 8/2008 : This recipe is foolproof. I made this recently with a pregnant friend of mine, and I left the recipe with her. I found out later she ate all of the pie and then made another one the next day! I too added some vanilla pudding mix and a bit of sugar to the whipped topping. Perfect.] FANTASTIC! I also made a strawberry cream pie with this recipie, subing banana pudding mix with strawberry glaze to taste. BOTH pies were HUGE hits! Handed them out to boyfriend's parents, family friends, and the rest was gobbled up by mom and pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
So good! I made only one pie but mounded the filling up in the middle and I ended up putting it in a ready made shortbread crust. This is a wonderful desert to make if you don't want to spend much time on it, no time at all to mix together. I will use my homemade regular pie crust next time and actually might not whip as long as I did because it was just a smidge too stiff. I would have liked it a touch creamier - still a great pie and much better then other versions I've tried. This would also make a great filling for a summer trifle recipe with various fruits or even switching the banana mix for chocolate for a chocolate cream pie. Options!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Fabulous pie! This was the first time I've made banana cream pie, and it got rave reviews. I was told it was the best people have ever had. I followed others' suggestions, and used 5-6 bananas, banana cream pudding, and added powdered sugar and vanilla to the topping. One thing I found with the crushed ice was to put it in a blender to totally crush it. This is definitely in my recipe box permanently! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anemptyroad
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe and so easy to make. My family loves it. Instead of a baked pie shell, I just buy a pre-made graham cracker shell. Also, no need to use crushed ice. Just wet the inside of your mixing bowl and your metal mixers with water and then put them into the freezer for a few minutes. My family always does this when we make whipped cream. Also, if the banana mixture gets too thick, I just add some milk and stir to thin it out so it's nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anemptyroad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Quick and easy. I got rave reviews. You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States