Banana Cream Pie Made Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
By far the best banana cream pie ever..better than any store bought one hands down. Thanks so much for the recipe, this is a pie I will take to all gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Isaacs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe. I don't usually like banana cream pies but this one was soooo good! I ended up making 2 pies because it makes so much filling. I used the "Nilla" pie shells and 5 or 6 bananas. The whipped cream isn't enough for both pies so if you are going to make 2 pies from this recipe you may want to double the whipping cream. I added a little powdered sugar and vanilla extract to my whipping cream to sweeten it up. My pies came out thicker in texture than banana cream pies we've tried before. I don't know if it's the recipe or if I whipped the mixture too long. Either way...it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Best banana cream pie recipe ever. This was much better than anything store-bought and a hundred times better than anything from a cafeteria or buffet. The pies (I was able to make two with this recipe) were very rich and delicious, yet not too sweet. I didn't have any crushed ice on hand, but it made no difference as far as I could tell. Also, the whipped cream topping tasted much better after adding some powdered sugar. It's not necessary to pipe on the topping as I just used a spatula. Everything tasted great together in Nilla pie crusts. After making one with peach on the bottom my advice is to stick with the bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
OH MY GOODNESS!!! This is a keeper! Very yummy...tastes like it came from a gourmet kitchen...not mine! If I keep making all of these five-star recipes, people are going to start thinking I can cook!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I'm not much of a cook (to give you an idea, this was the first time I used the whip attachment on my Kitchen Aid mixer) and this recipe was just as easy and wonderful as advertised! The filling overfilled my 9.5 inch pie plate, so I omitted the extra cream for the top, but I guess you could serve it on the side. I also used an extra banana. Had no problem getting volunteers to clean the bowl for me...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Ok, so it's not like a banana cream pie that you'd get at a pie restaurant...but it IS a step above the ones made with cool whip! My kids like this recipe over a traditional banana cream pie. I think they like the fluffyness over the creamyness of the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I made this pie for my mother in law for mother's day- and "Wow!". I couldn't believe how easy this was to make- and how delicious. The pudding layer alone was wonderful- I could eat that by the spoonful. I took leftovers to work- and it was gone in less than 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This was wonderful. There were no leftovers when I made it for a party. I am making it again for Easter. The one thing I did differently, I used the ready made gram cracker crust. It was really good! I would highly recommend this recipe to you and your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This is excellent! There are a couple of minor things I would change, one being to use more bananas. I used four small ones and would use five, depending on the consistency you want. Also, the crushed ice thing was odd to me. I tried to beat it until it melted, but still had to pick out several pieces. Not sure what would be the way around that. The only other thing I may change is to add a little sugar to the top layer of whipped cream when I beat it. It doesn't call for it, and none of the previous reviewers mentioned it, so I didn't use any. But if you taste the top layer by itself (I pick things apart to eat them :) it of course doesn't taste very good. All in all, a YUMMY pie that I will make again! Thank you Angela! Oh, by the way, I used No Roll Pie Crust II off this sight and it is so flaky and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Definitely the easiest and best banana cream pie I have made. My family insists on one a week. I found this recipe can make two pies easily, and they can be frozen for future use. I also recommend adding half a packet of sugar to the whip cream. A MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELE TIBBO

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States