Banana Cream Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by zmo
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
My niece said, "this is better than Marie Calendars." Everyone loved this pie. I added 1/2 of a small banana to the pudding mixture for flavor (not the whole banana, because you don't want to "over-kill" the flavor). It was perfect! I used the small 1 ounce boxes of pudding and it was a perfect amount for one pie. I think because I used the marie calendar pie pans and they are smaller than 9 inches. I noticed that a some people had extra pudding and I think it's because it depends on the size of the pie pan used. Ok for member SENORITA132, you said the pie was too watery... the recipe says to "whisk" the pudding, but I would suggest using a mixer and beat it until it's nice and thick. It worked for me this way rather than using a whisk. Also, thank you to BAVERDUCE for your suggestion about dipping the bananas in lemon juice so that they don't brown. It really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Excellent pie, very easy. I took the advice of some previous reviewers and used banana and french vanilla pudding mixes. DEFINATELY go with a ready-made crust like graham cracker, vanilla wafer or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Instead of layering banana slices, I blended them with some lemon juice to prevent browning, and then folded them into the pudding. This is just a personal preference. For the pudding, I used about 1.5 cups of milk to compensate for the bananas being mixed in. I made a graham crust, and put a layer of semi-sweet chocolate (melted in a double boiler) on the bottom. I sprinkled some graham crumbs on the top of the whipped cream (of which I used only about 1 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Alot of people have said that they had way too much filling for one pie. Perhaps you are making the pudding according to the package directions instead of the recipe? Doing so will get you about 1 more cup of filling and it will not be as firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Good and easy. Filling seems like too much and spills out, BUT... Before pouring it into the pie shell, try letting the filling set in the bowl in the refrigerator for about 5 minutes. This way you can "mound" it into the pie, and you will definitely use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
Nice pies! I followed other reviewers advice and made 2 small pies with a vanilla wafer crust. I used 1 box banana cream and one vanilla pudding. I also found you don't really need the full 2 cups of whipped cream either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
YUM! I use a graham cracker crust, also only one pack of pudding and an 8oz container of whipped topping. To make it a less guilty treat, I use sugar-free pudding, non-fat milk, and fat free whipped topping. You don't even miss the sugar and fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
I used one french vanilla and one banana cream pudding mix. This pie turned out excellent! It was so easy to prepare. I actually had enough for 2 pies. So I took one over to my in-laws. My father-in-law had 3 slices! I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is a very easy pie to make. As other reviewers suggested, I used 1 box of banana and 1 of vanilla for the pudding. I also made a traditional pie crust from scratch. My picky son that normally won't eat pie, loved it. I still prefer to make banana cream pie from scratch, but this will work in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Excellent. I used 1 box french vanilla & 1/2 box banana pudding. Instead of lining pie crust, I folded banannas into the pudding once it had set (5-10min). I did not top with whip cream, instead just let everybody do it themselves when they take a piece of pie..much easier to cut and serve this was. [Also, Marie Callander's frozen pie crust was terrific!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States