Banana Cream Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I used ready crust, French vanilla/banana creme pudding - It tastes good its pretty similar to the recipes on the crust. Overall a good recipe - can be better with a little more creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Please help! I made the recipe as it said but my pie has come out very soupy. There are a lot of reviews that told of successful pies, could someone please give me some tips so it won't be so soupy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was pretty good but it fell apart so easy, hard to get a good "slice" it was more like pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made this for my husband also, I must say thanks to Allrecipes, I am on my way to becoming an expert cook, there is so much on this site i havnt made as I'm not that brave but so far I've been enjoying baking and I made this for my hubby and him and the children really enjoyed it and I must say that like other's I do read the reviews first and have gotten a few good tips but some of the recipes here are just good they way they are. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Very Good, a big hit at my house with my guests. I too used banana pudding and vanilla. I can't wait for the opportunity to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I absolutely loved this pie! I read the reviews before I made it and made some changes according to what others said. I used 1 box of Instant Vanilla and 1 box of Instant Banana Cream pudding for the filling. I also sliced some fresh bananas and added it to the filling. I know that others have expressed disappointment over the banana slices turning brown...here's a fix for that. After you slice the banana, dip it in lemon juice before putting on the bottom of the pie crust. Trust me, your banana won't taste like lemon. And...your bananas will not turn brown. Whenever I make a fruit salad, I always dip the banana pieces in lemon juice and they never turn brown. Try it, it really works! Other than those few changes, I kept the recipe the same...I used a store bought regular crust, but next time I will either make or buy a graham cracker one...I think it would be much tastier with graham cracker! All and all, I loved it and my family loved it. Very easy and quick to make. I will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
For the little amount of time and effort put into this pie, it really did turn out tasty. It definitely doesn't have the taste of something you'd get at a Southern bbq restaurant, but like I said, it's quick. Next time I will try the original recipe that calls for the egg yolks, cream, corn starch, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is an absolutely delicious pie for how easy it is to make. I used a store-bought graham cracker crust and followed suit with other reviews by splitting the pudding half and half with vanilla and bananna. The mixture came out firm and perfect for one pie! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this for a work party and everyone loved it! I made it the way it is on the recipe but added two smashed bananas. Simply the best banana cream pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I wanted to find a good and quick recipe for banana cream pie; this isn't it for me. I used 1 pkg of french vanilla and 1 pkg of banana pudding, as others have suggested. The filling thickened very nicely and very quickly, but I think it had way too much of a 'fake banana' taste. I won't be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States