Banana Cream Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I've been making this for years. You actually don't need to refrigerate for 3 hrs, I just alternate between the freezer and the fridge for about an hr. when I'm in a rush. As other reviewers suggested, I use 1 pkg of banana cream pudding & 1 pkg. of vanilla... always turns out and always a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
After reading most of the reviews I decided to alter this recipe when making it my first time... I used 1 box vanilla pudding and 1 box banana cream pudding. I used 2 cups of milk then mashed the bananas and folded into the pudding mix. For the slices of bananas on the top of the pie...I soaked them in lemon juice so that the top of the pie had nice fresh looking slices instead of brown ones. Was a winner for the family dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
pretty good. i don't know if i really like the banana pudding flavor. i still can't make mine taste like marie calendars! still trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
THIS PIE WAS YUMMY! I USED 1 BANANA CREME PUDDING, AND 1 VAN. PUDDING IN A GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST, INSTEAD OD 2 VANILLA PUDDINGS, EVERYONE LOVED IT. THANKS FOR THE EXCELLENT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
So effortless and yet so yummy! One of the desserts I have ever made. I just had 3 people for dinner and they all loved the pie. LOVED IT. I followed earlier suggestions and used one vanilla and one banana pudding mix. Beating the mix and milk with an electric mixer definitely helps thicken the mixture. If you like a more banana taste in your filling -- which I do -- I also added one mashed banana into the mixture after the milk-pudding mixture thickens, before I fold in the whipped cream. Use a really ripe banana to get a nice mash. It helps thicken the filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very tasty recipe!! Quick and simple to make. There was way too much filling, I would suggest only using one bax of pudding and decreasing the amount of milk. But overall i was very satisfied!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I made this very simple recipe at my girlfriend's cottage and the men loved it. It was a little messy cutting into it and the banana's did turn brown some but all in all, it was very tastey. As previous reviewers mentioned, I will try dipping the banana's in lemon juice before hand and will also try using a graham cracker crust too. This recipe is a keeper with a minor tune up...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zmo
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
My niece said, "this is better than Marie Calendars." Everyone loved this pie. I added 1/2 of a small banana to the pudding mixture for flavor (not the whole banana, because you don't want to "over-kill" the flavor). It was perfect! I used the small 1 ounce boxes of pudding and it was a perfect amount for one pie. I think because I used the marie calendar pie pans and they are smaller than 9 inches. I noticed that a some people had extra pudding and I think it's because it depends on the size of the pie pan used. Ok for member SENORITA132, you said the pie was too watery... the recipe says to "whisk" the pudding, but I would suggest using a mixer and beat it until it's nice and thick. It worked for me this way rather than using a whisk. Also, thank you to BAVERDUCE for your suggestion about dipping the bananas in lemon juice so that they don't brown. It really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This pie is awesome! It doesn't have the same rich taste of a made from scratch banana cream pie, but it's still delicious. Given the fact it takes so little time to prepare I think it's a nice trade off. If you don't have much time and want a great tasting banana cream pie - it's a great recipe. I used a regular pastry shell with 1 box french vanilla and 1 box banana pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACHMILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I used ready crust, French vanilla/banana creme pudding - It tastes good its pretty similar to the recipes on the crust. Overall a good recipe - can be better with a little more creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States