Banana Cream Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I also used 1 package of vanilla and 1 package of banana, then added a mashed banana to the filling. The taste was amazing, but it wasn't as firm as I would have like. I think next time I will reduce the milk by at least a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAZZERMINE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I'd give this 3 stars, my husband would give it 5 stars, so I compromised at ****. I used one box of vanilla pudding and one box of banana pudding per other reviewers' suggestions. I also mashed one banana in with the puddings. So the taste is extremely "banana-y" which the hubby LOVED. However, my pie never set up - - it was very soupy. You could not serve a 'piece' of this, it was more like a scoop of pudding and pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great and easy recipe. Although I would put more bananas in next time (personal taste). Used 1 box of vanilla and 1/2 box of banana cream pudding. Left whipped cream on the side of tasters' preferences and followed others on the lemon trick for the bananas. BTW, used ready-made graham pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Heavenly. I decided to use a graham cracker crust as some have suggested and it was delicious. I did do half banana cream pudding and half vanilla. I topped with fresh whipping cream (recipe: 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 3 tablespoons powdered sugar and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla. Whip all ingredients together). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Super easy to make and delicious! I took the suggestions of many others and used 1 box of banana cream pudding and 1 box of vanilla. I've made this several times for my husband and we both love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by austinveggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I was surprised how yummy this turned out! First cream pie I've made and I'll definitely make again. I had to make it in a rush and this was super quick. I used homemade crust. Make sure you use RIPE bananas. Per suggestions, I used 1 pkg vanilla and 1pkg sugar free/non fat banana cream (because that's all the store had), a smidge less milk, and used an electic mixer to thicken which it did FAST! (I freaked out a little because the nonfat instant pudding is only 0.9oz and not 3 oz like the recipe calls for - these are equivalent!! Don't go out and buy 3 pkts of the nonfat stuff! Lucky I got wise before I made a mad dash to the store.)I also mashed up the ripest banana that I had and folded it into the mix before the whip cream. That gave it a great texture. I added the whip cream topping and bananas and THEN chilled. Which worked out just fine. Thanks to the people who suggested mixing the bananas in lemon juice to keep it from browning - it worked and made for a beautiful presentation! It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was very good, and believe it or not I had some family members that said they don't like banana cream pie. but eat this one. The only thing I did different was I added more bananas and I mashed them and mixed them in the pudding instead of just layering them on the bottom. will make again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This definitely gets 5 stars. I had to restrain myself from eating half the pie. My whole family (especially the kids) LOVED and raved about it. I actually made pie crust from scratch instead of using pre-made crusts. I should have made two more pies from the amount of requests for seconds and thirds I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Well, what can I say, this pie turned out to be a *big hit*!! I don't remember the guy's name but he said he left the whipped topping to the side and let people dollop it on their individual slices - we did too. Otherwise we followed the recipe to a tee. My only criticism is, it was difficult getting the slices to stay intact when serving them up. Is that just what it's going to do since it's a cream pie? Or did I do something wrong? Either way, two thumbs up. It ultimately didn't matter what it looked like, it tasted so good going down, mm-mm-mm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
quick, easy, delicious! and best of all it's no bake! and if you use artificially sweetened puddings and/or lite whipped topping its just as fantastic and completely guilt free!! made it twice, so far, once following the directions exact and once more changing for the reduced sugars and it was out of this world both times, so much so that i didn't notice the difference and double checked the packages to make sure i bought the right stuff :) and I plan to make this many, many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, New York, USA
Living In: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States