Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was very good. Made it without changing a thing and followed the directions precisely. Knocked out of the ball park. I reviewed this also under a different account name and I do not see my review. Great recipes on here - keep up the good work, but too many begging pop ups on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Thanks!! Your recipe was what I was looking for when I decided to satisfy my banana cream pie craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
So easy and delicious! Will definately make this many more times! Whole family loved it! Win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
DO NOT ATTEMPT. If you follow this recipe, what you end up with is a soupy mess that tastes fine but is so unpresentable that it's embarrassing. We've tried twice and checked the custard temp with a thermometer. This one simply doesn't set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this pie exactly as presented and it came out perfectly. I made a butter crust for this one. The last step in baking the crust, I gave the crust a brush up with an egg white wash and baked it an additional 3 minutes to seal the crust. The result was a nice flaky crust with a fabulous banana cream filling. To obtain the best results do not omit baking the pie before chilling it in the fridge. I would guess that those who ended up with "runny" or "soupy" results did not cook the filling long enough to set up or chill in the refrigerator for the recommended time. Do that and you will have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was a good start, but that is not the same thing as a good recipe. This websites greatest asset is the community of bakers and cooks who can turn just about any recipe into a winner. However, this same community tends to rate its final result rather than the recipe as written. Because of the suggestions of many I was able to make a five-star pie. I used raw sugar instead of white, the slight molasses flavor of raw sugar is perfect with bananas. I changed the flour for cornstarch (3 Tbl). I used the whole egg, after all the nutrients are mostly in the white. I increased the vanilla to a Tablespoon. After step 1, I allowed the mixture to rest for 10-minutes before tempering the eggs. After adding the eggs I brought the mixture back up to simmer before timing the final 2-minutes of cooking. I did NOT bake the pie after assembly. I placed wax paper on the assembled pie to keep a skin from forming. Served with whipped cream (this one's not a recipe change, just a preference). Sorry, but that's too many changes to call this recipe as written 5-star. Btw the Graham Cracker Crust recipe on this website was perfect for the pie as altered above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Easy, fast and amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
So good. Made this for my wonderful neighbor who plowed my driveway - his favorite. Made two so we could try it too. Followed the recipe exactly except NO BAKING. Used a homemade crust. Doubled the recipe so I could have two pies. Used a wooden spoon to stir the pudding. If you very slowly add the milk to the dry ingredients, you shouldn't have a problem with lumps. Keep the heat at no more than medium to avoid scorching. Also, 1 large banana per pie should be enough. I didn't put any on top because they get ugly quickly. Used whipped topping. My neighbor just called to tell me it is the best banana cream pie he has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe was absolutely delicious!! If I could give it more than 5 star I definitely would! I paired it with another pie crust from this cite and it turned out wonderfully! Although, I did take the other commenters' advice and chose not to bake it, instead I stuck it in the fridge for about 3-5 hours to let it set. And for those of you who had soupy pudding, you probably needed too cook it longer, need more flour, or didnt let it set long enough. Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I am not a baker but the cream pudding in this pie has impressed everyone. wow, Mema made dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States