Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe was absolutely delicious!! If I could give it more than 5 star I definitely would! I paired it with another pie crust from this cite and it turned out wonderfully! Although, I did take the other commenters' advice and chose not to bake it, instead I stuck it in the fridge for about 3-5 hours to let it set. And for those of you who had soupy pudding, you probably needed too cook it longer, need more flour, or didnt let it set long enough. Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I am not a baker but the cream pudding in this pie has impressed everyone. wow, Mema made dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Yum! My first time making banana cream pie and my taste-testers loved it. It's a bit labor intensive making that pudding, and although I used whole milk and really stirred like the dickens to thicken it, the slices came out a total mess. It looked like banana pudding in a heap on our plates. Delicious though! Thanks for the tip to coat the banana pieces with lemon juice, by day 2 even the slices I placed on top of the pie had not browned. I made a graham cracker crust (so much more flavorful than a pastry crust) and topped with homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Perfectly sweet, didnt change a thing! Used graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Powers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
First time making this pie. I added 1/2 tsp of banana extract. I used a pre-made pie shell to save time. Also put lemon juice on bananas to prevent browning. This pie is easy and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This was my first time making this pie. I followed the recipe like it said but used cornstarch instead of flour and used less sugar. The flavor was good, but not sure why my pudding turned a greenish color as soon as I took it off the stove to add the butter and vanilla. Has this happened to anyone else? Any suggestion on how I can avoid this next time I make it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I loved this pie! It was a big hit at a recent party, and I didn't forget the whipped cream on top :) I agree with other reviewers that this pie does NOT need to be baked after the filling goes in. I put it in the fridge for a few hours before serving, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Great pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made this exactly as written , except I went with the foot note on the recipe and used cornstarch . Mine set up perfectly. People who have soupy pie did not cook it right. If you cook it and wait until it bubbles or slightly boils, that is when you should start counting the first 2 minutes of the recipe. If you follow this exactly I can't see where you could go wrong . I also don't get the baking part people are saying they are doing ? I don't see anywhere in that recipe where it says put filling in and bake ? But of course if you make a crust you have to bake that.And lastly I used a box of vanilla wafers , which I crushed and added a stick of melted butter to, and baked at 350 for 8 to 10 minutes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Thanks so much for the recipe! The vanilla pudding was sooooo good. I used 3 tbsp cornstarch instead of flour as suggested and it was perfect! It's very important to stir the pudding mixture constantly (don't get lazy!) or else the pudding can easily burn. Overall a great recipe. i will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 922) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States