Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is very sweet and soupy. I have no idea what I did wrong. I followed recipe exactly. The 4 stars is for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Everyone loved it. I just refrigerated it as suggested in comments and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I just made this recipe. I did not alter the recipe. I used the cornstarch instead of flour, as mentioned in the footnote. I used this as a parfait in glasses instead of as a pie. I put banana in bottom of two parfait glasses, and nothing in the others. I covered with saran wrap, to prevent film skin on the parfait. I will let my guest decide if they want banana, strawberries (fresh) or caramel with nuts. I am eating an extra parfait glass I made. It is so good, I couldn't wait to finish before I posted review. While mine poured in just a bit runny, it has since "set" and I can tell that if it was in a pie, it would slice just great. p/s the ingredients, including the measurement are identical to the recipe on the side of the vanilla wafer box for the banana pudding, difference is the tempering of the eggs, and maybe this is why it is of a lighter and fluffier texture than the pudding recipe. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karnack, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I haven't used a double boiler or stirred on a stove-top to thicken puddings or sauces for years. It is a lot easier to do in the microwave. Use a larger bowl than you think you need (so it doesn't overflow). Put in the microwave and take out at intervals to stir with s whisk. Never lumpy, never scorched. Works well for white sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I used this as a starter to make a chocolate banana Kona cream pie. Here's what I modified: I made a chocolate graham cracker crust, then gave it a layer of chocolate ganash (always a good idea). For the pudding, I first steeped one cup of the milk (I used whole) in coffee to give it an additional flava. So glad I did! It was awesome. I arranged half of the bananas over the ganash layer, then mixed the other half into the pudding after it had cooked, and I also set aside some pudding without banana so I could spread that over the top so there was no banana exposed (so it couldn't turn brown). When I was ready to serve, I whipped up some fresh cream to layer on top, then shaved some dark chocolate on top. Amazing! Still banana-y, but with a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Colour not appetizing, texture not appetizing. Really disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umm Hurairah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was simple yet delectable....I used almond milk...which may solve some of the other users "runny" issues! I also only added 1 3/4 of the almond milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Followed this recipe and pie came out great. I agree with a previous post that there must be a typo in the recipe in step 4. Maybe missed the part about preparing the meringue before baking. I used Never-Ever-Fail Meringue recipe on this site and cut the bananas down to 3. Pie came out very sweet so next time I will cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Excellent! First time making home-made pudding and surprisingly simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Wonderful, except just a tad bit salty. Will add less in the future. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States