Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
WOW!!! This pie is outstanding!! The pudding filling is the best I've ever had! I used cornstarch instead of flour. Perfect recipe. Beyond words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this pie this morning and it's so easy and tastes absolutely wonderful.I made it right by the recipe except I did add 2 tsp of starch in addition to the flour,I wanted to be sure my pie set up and I did not bake it either.Just to help it set up faster I put pudding in bowl with plastic wrap for about an hour before I assembled the pie.I was weary this would not be good and I was so wrong.I cut it tonight for dessert and it's beautiful and good,I topped with sweetened whipping cream as I plated the pie,so go ahead and make this pie!It's spot on!Thanks for the great recipe.Happy girl in Ga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Great recipe! my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This pie turned out great. The pudding was easy to make and didn't require any ingredients that I didn't readily have on hand. The sauce thickened up nicely and had a creamy smooth consistency. The only thing I was unsure about was the pie crust. I had some extra dough from a previous pie that I was able to use but had never pre-baked a crust before. While it was baking, it started to puff up and shrink in toward the center so I had to spread it out while baking. My mother told me though that poking holes in the bottom of the crust before pre-baking helps to prevent that, so I'll try that next time. Overall this pie was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was so easy to make. I adjusted the serving size to 12 for a deep dish pie. I took note from the comments and used whole milk. It turned out perfectly. Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Amazing pie! I always thought for some reason that making homemade banana cream pie was difficult. Not so! I did not bake this pie per instructions, as after reading all the reviews it seemed that was the consensus. Let it sit in the fridge overnight and the custard was PERFECT! I used whole milk, which I believe it important. Have patience while waiting for the custard to come together and thicken. It's worth the wait! I decided to slice my bananas directly into the custard and then put this mixture into my shell, smoothing out. When I served it someone asked if I had put lemon on my bananas because of how white they were. I think that I sliced into the custard and mixed it right away, coated them and therefore prevented the ugly browning. I also did it this way because I didn't want the fruit on top of itself, and instead wanted it mixed throughout. Super good. Try it, you'll love it! Thanks Ruby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
the pie was great!We used whole milk and cake flour to so it wasn't soupy and it came out very well.Also we didn't bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
the look b4 cutting into it gets a 5 the taste gets a 5 the runny consistency gets a 3. I made this pie 3 times in one day to take it to my mother in laws bday cause she loves it and was runny eery single time ppl still loved it but said after cutting it looked like slop BUT TASTED GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Excellent! Followed recipe until the baking part. I used whole milk & the custard thickened well & I did NOT bake the pie - just put it in the fridge to cool. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
First time I've made banana cream pie, and it was a hit. I plan on making this again, and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 898) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States