Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This pie is amazing!! I searched for a long time for a recipe with a homemade custard and finally found this one. Make exactly like the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is my go to banana pudding recipe, I make this A LOT because this is my sons all time favorite dessert and since he is 13, he eats a lot. Using only flour works for me, the pudding thickens up with no problem. Tempering the egg yolks is essential. I think the the trick to this recipe like any other recipe wether cooking or baking is technique. It does not matter if the recipe is followed to the t, technique has to be aquired. I don't bake the pie at the end, I just let the pudding cool on the pie crust otherwise it will get too gelatinous like and firm and we like the pudding consistency. One thing that may help with getting the pudding to thickening up is whisking, as soon as the milk is poured on the dry ingredients, do not stop whisking until it starts to bubble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! Super yummy. I did use 3 TBSP of cornstarch instead of flour. The key is to cook the pudding mixture until it is thick and bubbly. I also made a Nilla wafer crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It was perfect and so delicious, just read and follow readers directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Okay to thicken the custard add 1 1/2 cup of milk this is a Great recipe, this is my second time making it with graham cracker crust. Once I made into a pie and the second time I made shooters! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This pie was just OK to my family. Made exactly as directed. I prefer my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
My husband has declared this his favorite pie in the world! I made it for his birthday and met rave reviews! Highly recommend. I followed other's recommendations of using starch and not baking the pie, and it was seriously wonderful. I topped it with a sweet-rum sauce, and it was seriously fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I've made this pie twice. The first time it was absolutely out of this world! Best banana cream pie I've ever had. It was so good that I served it at a dinner party. This time I made two - one with Splenda, and one with regular white sugar. The one with Splenda had a funny taste to it, but it set up very nicely. The flavor could have been from the Splenda, but I've never had a funny taste from that. The sugar one was soupy, but I was told that it had a much better flavor than the other. I don't know what I did wrong. Maybe I didn't cook it enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Thanks to comments I didn't bake. This is the FIRST time I have made pudding & I'm a senior! I couldn't believe how easy it was. Might use less sugar next time. This was so much better than the ones using Jello pudding mix that I made when the kids were little. Going to try cocoanut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Awesome after considering the reviews and recommendations of everybody else! The pie doesn´t need to be baked if instead of flour you use the 3 tbspn of corn starch! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States