Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I did make some slight adjustments based on other reviews, which were to reduce sugar to 1/2 cup, skip baking and use cornstarch instead of flour. Otherwise I prepared it as written and it came out divine! Banana Cream Pie is my dad's favorite dessert and he kept saying it was the best he has ever eaten. I topped it with whipped cream and used a homemade crust, and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Next time would mix the custard into the bananas rather than bake them in layers. The custard comes out very firm (more like jello than pudding). Might also be good to sautee the bananas with butter and brown sugar or honey and maybe some brandy to give them more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Today is Father's Day 2014. My husband loves banana cream pie and rice pudding with raisins. I have lost my grandmother/mother's recipe for custard. This one came through!! However, I am certain flour was never used so I used the 3 T of cornstarch and a little less sugar and no butter. Also, I mixed/whisked the eggs in with the cold milk (2%) and then whisked into the dry ingredients with the burner on. Don't give up, keep whisking, it will thicken. After a quick taste it was rated better than my rum sauce on the bread pudding for a pre-father's day dessert! Boy is he spoiled. (tomorrow back on greens - ha) I gave it a 4 because of my changes, which rated a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Make sure you use corn starch instead of flower. I mashed up a cup of bananas and tossed that in with the pudding when I added the egg yolks. This made it so tasty. I put bananas on the bottom then a layer of pudding then another layer of cut up bananas and another layer of pudding. Slid it into the fridge and let it cool and set. So can't wait. Licked the pudding bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brye Shell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Just finished having a slice of this AMAZING pie! I always make a recipe as suggested the first time around, then tweak to my own version of perfection. Here's what I did that made everyone say it was the "best banana cream pie they've ever had"...For the milk, I used 1 cup half n half and 1 cup whole milk. This ensures your filling will not be soupy. I had an overripe, brown, banana that I mashed and added to the pudding. This made the pudding a banana flavor instead of vanilla, but not overpowering. Lastly, I made home made whipped cream for the topping with 1 cup heavy cream, 1 tsp. vanilla and 3 Tbsp. powdered sugar. I decorated the top with banana slices and Nilla wafers. You won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Easy and delish! But next time I will use less sugar..I find it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe is made even better if you finely chop up some banana and mix it into the pudding just before you put it in the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Do no understand why people are saying it's runny, did you actually allow the pudding mix to cook until it thickened? That's you fault, not the recipes. However, this recipe is fantastic! It turned out beautifully, and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Turned out just as the recipe stated. It was quite simple. Tasty. My bf loved it. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leilani13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I have never made pudding or a cream pie before and I can't believe how well this turned out! I read the reviews ahead of time and decided to follow the recipe exactly through step 2, using whole milk and real vanilla. Then I left the pudding out on the counter until it was completely cool, stirring every 15 minutes or so. That took about an hour. After that, I spread a little pudding on the bottom of the pie crust (made from vanilla wafers), and topped with slices from one banana. I repeated the layers for two more bananas, making sure to cover all the spaces with pudding so there was no trapped air to turn the bananas brown. After I used 3 bananas the pie dish was full, so I didn't use a 4th one. I covered the pie with plastic wrap, using toothpicks to keep the wrap off the surface, and then chilled in the fridge overnight (no baking - per the other reviews). To serve, I topped each slice of pie with a dollop of whipped cream and a slice of banana. It was excellent and got rave reviews at our Mother's Day dinner! I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 897) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States