Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Everyone loved it! I really recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Amazing cream pie! Makes a great cooked pudding or can add almost any fruit to this for a change up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Delicious! One of the best, ever. Just one tip: Only bake the pie for about 7 minutes to set it, otherwise the pie will dry out. I top mine with real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Gillette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Did not set up. Corn starch is probably the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was very good. Made it without changing a thing and followed the directions precisely. Knocked out of the ball park.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Thanks!! Your recipe was what I was looking for when I decided to satisfy my banana cream pie craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
So easy and delicious! Will definately make this many more times! Whole family loved it! Win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
DO NOT ATTEMPT. If you follow this recipe, what you end up with is a soupy mess that tastes fine but is so unpresentable that it's embarrassing. We've tried twice and checked the custard temp with a thermometer. This one simply doesn't set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this pie exactly as presented and it came out perfectly. I made a butter crust for this one. The last step in baking the crust, I gave the crust a brush up with an egg white wash and baked it an additional 3 minutes to seal the crust. The result was a nice flaky crust with a fabulous banana cream filling. To obtain the best results do not omit baking the pie before chilling it in the fridge. I would guess that those who ended up with "runny" or "soupy" results did not cook the filling long enough to set up or chill in the refrigerator for the recommended time. Do that and you will have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I used raw sugar instead of white, the slight molasses flavor of raw sugar is perfect with bananas. I changed the flour for cornstarch (3 Tbl). I used the whole egg, after all the nutrients are mostly in the white. I increased the vanilla to a Tablespoon. After step 1, I allowed the mixture to rest for 10-minutes before tempering the eggs. After adding the eggs I brought the mixture back up to simmer before timing the final 2-minutes of cooking. I did not bake the pie after assembly. I placed wax paper on the assembled pie to keep a skin from forming. Served with whipped cream (this one's not a recipe change, just a preference). The Graham Cracker Crust recipe on this website was perfect for the pie as altered above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States