Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made the pie yesterday. I did not bake it. It was very runny, and the consistency was gritty. After I had already chilled it I decided to bake it since it was so runny. Not much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllOurEggs.com
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This being my first time making banana cream pie, I didn't realize refrigeration for a few days was not an option. My poor bananas browned badly and the custard lost the amazing taste and somehow tasted watered-down and no longer sweet. I know this would be delicious if served immediately - that just wasn't possible in my hectic life. Next time I make banana cream I will be sure to serve immediately or same-day. #fail #womp Oh, and I did not bake or brown the top at all, because that is just silly. In my world we smother the thing in real whipping cream and call it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllOurEggs.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I really don't know where I went wrong, but it came out really soupy. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Made this to spec. It is too sweet. Half sugar would have made this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Nielsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Fantastic! I didn't change a thing and the results were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Tresham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Reichartz
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Using flour for thickener is not difficult. Just mix the sugar, salt, and flour until there are no lumps, and heat slowly gradually pouring milk in, and stirring a bunch. Oh and I made a meringue and baked it as well, til the meringue was toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Reichartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Made this per my boyfriend's request, he was very happy. It was very easy, I used light cream instead of milk. For those who found it runny, with these types of pies I found through trial & error :) that you have to follow the directions to the letter. Such as 'cook for another 2 min' 'remove from burner' etc. I used the amounts in the recipe & used the 1/3 cup flour, the cream came out very thick, creamy & smooth. Very nice with the vanilla. Very happy to find this, will probably do the coconut too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I love this recipe! It is MUCH better than the box pudding mix. I think step 4 is referring to the crust only. DON'T BAKE WHOLE PIE - JUST CRUST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fabie Zimm
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This pie was delicious. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch, upped the vanilla a bit, and cooked for a lot longer (10mins) to turn it into a custard consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I have been making this recipe for 40+ years! My family loves it with a prebaked graham cracker crust. Tip: DO NOT BAKE, immediately after pouring the custard into the crust, place plastic wrap directly onto the hot filling to seal. This will prevent it from forming a rubbery skin. Refrigerate overnight. It's a great make ahead dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 922) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States