Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I just tried this recipe. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
It was a little liquidy but it was SO GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent, even though I forgot the vanilla (doh!). I used corn starch as recommended in the notes above - 3 TBSP instead of 1/3 cup flour, as I agree that corn starch is better for puddings. I also used crushed vanilla wafers mixed with 6 TBSP melted butter baked for 5 min at 350°F (recommended by another reviewer). I didn't bake mine either, to avoid a rubbery layer. I will most definitely make this again, I can see that one would need to learn to gauge when to stop cooking the pudding mix. Mine could have been just a bit firmer, but it was firm enough that it did hold a pie shape (sort of sloughed a bit). Maybe baking it would have helped this. The bananas on the bottom added enough banana flavour that it wasn't apparent there wasn't any vanilla or banana flavouring in the actual pudding. I only ended up using about two bananas. I sliced enough to cover the bottom of the pie plate (before the pudding was added) and then served with a couple rounds on each slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was amazing! I loved that it as all from scratch. It was easy to make and came out beautifully. I did follow someone else's advice by adding a couple teaspoons cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abanana
Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Too runny! Looked like a soup not a pie.. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Mine was also runny what the recipe fails to say is that once you add milk you whisk it until it gets THICK & bubbly like if it was lava. When you whisk it creates bubbles so that's when I stopped and didn't wait for it to thicken was very runny and had a lot of pudding mix left over will try it again and add cornstarch instead as many of other reviews suggested . Was also just told by aunt that I have to whisk it for a good 10 to 15 min in low heat before it thickens if that helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I followed EXACTLY and it came out PERFECT! I used flour and 2% milk. I would imagine using skim would likely cause it to be runny. The key is adding the milk slowly and cooking over medium heat. I made 2 pies separately and followed the recipie exactly both times with no problems. Someone wrote you should never use flour in pies. I use it all the time over cornstarch, it's personal preference and I stand by it. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I love the pudding filling! I like to mash 2 of the bananas and add those to the pudding rather than slicing them into the bottom of the pie. Then there is more yummy banana flavor throughout! I also do not bake this pie! Add some cool whip to the top once cooled and it is banana cream pie perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The taste was good but too liquidy. Even when I followed the directions and leave It over night covered in the refrigerator. It was still soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The pie is definitely runny but it's totally delicious. I think the 15 minute time to bake is too short and needs to be increased, else you have a banana pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States